We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch, dinner and steak night”
Review of Cool Cafe

Cool Cafe
Ranked #28 of 424 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Description: Cool Cafe blends "Fine Southern Food" and scratch cookin' for a scrumptious and hearty meal for lunch and dinner. We serve lunch Sunday through Friday and dinner Monday through Thursday. Entrees, like Fried Chicken, Meatloaf, Pot Roast, and Chef's Specials such as Lemon Baked Chicken, Baked Tilapia and Chicken Mexico, team up with a variety of freshly cooked vegetables such as, Mashed Potatoes, Green Beans, Fried Corn, Turnip Greens, White Beans, Creamed Spinach, Fried Okra and Mac and Cheese. All are served with your choice of yeast rolls or cornbread. One of our special items, served Sunday through Thursday, is HOT CHICKEN on white bread and served with homemade pickles. What a treat! If you would like something "Cool", try our Cool Salads: Broccoli Salad (Tim's special recipe), Cole Slaw, Cranberry Salad, 3 Bean Salad, Pea Salad, Potato Salad, and delectable Chicken Salad made with green grapes and a special creamy sauce. And don't miss the old fashioned, just like Grandma used to make, Deviled Eggs! A must have is dessert, and oh, what choices there are! The house special served everyday is the World Famous Banana Pudding, made from scratch pudding, fresh bananas, vanilla wafers and a 5 inch cloud of real meringue! Then there are the fruit cobblers, two choices daily, apple, cherry, peach, and blackberry. The daily specials rotate and there are choices like made from scratch Brownies with house-made caramel sauce, and Chocolate Chip Cookies. There are a variety of cupcakes, Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Icing, and Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Icing! Be on the lookout for new and/or seasonal desserts, such as Pumpkin or Pecan Pie!
Restaurant details
Description: Cool Cafe blends "Fine Southern Food" and scratch cookin' for a scrumptious and hearty meal for lunch and dinner. We serve lunch Sunday through Friday and dinner Monday through Thursday. Entrees, like Fried Chicken, Meatloaf, Pot Roast, and Chef's Specials such as Lemon Baked Chicken, Baked Tilapia and Chicken Mexico, team up with a variety of freshly cooked vegetables such as, Mashed Potatoes, Green Beans, Fried Corn, Turnip Greens, White Beans, Creamed Spinach, Fried Okra and Mac and Cheese. All are served with your choice of yeast rolls or cornbread. One of our special items, served Sunday through Thursday, is HOT CHICKEN on white bread and served with homemade pickles. What a treat! If you would like something "Cool", try our Cool Salads: Broccoli Salad (Tim's special recipe), Cole Slaw, Cranberry Salad, 3 Bean Salad, Pea Salad, Potato Salad, and delectable Chicken Salad made with green grapes and a special creamy sauce. And don't miss the old fashioned, just like Grandma used to make, Deviled Eggs! A must have is dessert, and oh, what choices there are! The house special served everyday is the World Famous Banana Pudding, made from scratch pudding, fresh bananas, vanilla wafers and a 5 inch cloud of real meringue! Then there are the fruit cobblers, two choices daily, apple, cherry, peach, and blackberry. The daily specials rotate and there are choices like made from scratch Brownies with house-made caramel sauce, and Chocolate Chip Cookies. There are a variety of cupcakes, Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Icing, and Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Icing! Be on the lookout for new and/or seasonal desserts, such as Pumpkin or Pecan Pie!
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

Always great food and the best fried chicken on Earth.

Steak Night steaks are great but so is the catfish. The chicken breast is out of site

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2019

This was our first trip to the Cool Cafe. Now I'm not big on Meat & 3's, they usually taste mostly like cafeteria food so I was skeptical going in. My friends & I ordered different items for our meats & sides so we could try more things. There was nothing on any plate that we didn't like. No cafeteria food here! That fried chicken sent me right back to my grandmother's table after church on Sunday. Everything was well seasoned & well cooked. And that banana pudding!! It was probably the best I ever had (Sorry Grandma!). We all agreed the food was fresh & hot, with outstanding flavors and generous portions. The servers were friendly and the service quick, the restaurant was, overall, comfortable and fun. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

Cool Cafe is wonderful! I eat there a couple of times a week and everything I ever order is absolutely delicious. I love their hot chicken, but if hot isn't your thing, the regular fried chicken is the best around. They always have a great selection of vegetables also, and each is great.
The food is fresh, and flavorful and not from a can like so many meat-n-threes tend to be. If cold salads are your thing, they have about 8-9 of them each day and they're great as well.
You can see a pattern here :) - really & truly the food is all delicious - owner Tim simply knows how to make delicious food, and it's consistently good.
The tea is sweetened just right, the lemon is always ripe, the servers are friendly, the music playing in the background is fantastic....it's a lot of little things added together that make it my go to place a couple of days a week.
You will NOT be disappointed if you dine here!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jcartertn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, Owner at Cool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Thank you for the very nice review. We look forward to serving you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Husband and I just stopped there... Wanted to grab lunch to go. Says they stay open until 2:00, but doors were locked at 1:50. Definitely not worth our drive.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank kd4bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrie P, Public Relations Manager at Cool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

I am very sorry that you were not able to purchase a Sunday lunch on May 26th, 2019. We are open until 2:00pm most Sundays, except holiday weekends. This was the Memorial Day holiday weekend and we closed Sunday and Monday to allow our employees to spend time with their families. A message was posted on our website and Facebook to let the public know of the closing. Please stop by during our normal hours, but first, check for holiday closings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

As the title indicates, this is the best fried chicken in the area. And you can get it "hot" and now you just had the best Hot Chicken in the area. Fantastic sides, easy parking, nice staff. On Fridays they have baked lemon chicken, that is great also, but don't be expecting the fried.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zacc924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, Owner at Cool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Thank you Zac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cool Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cool Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing