We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner”

Sperry's Restaurant
Reserve a Table
Fri, 4/19
8:00 PM
2
Ranked #11 of 420 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I decided to go to Sperrys for our anniversary after a friend recommended them. Our server was Melissa and she was absolutely amazing! She took phenomenal care of us! I didn’t get any pictures of the food but everything was absolutely perfect! We had shrimp cocktail and the crab cake appetizer and my husband had the filet and king crab legs with the twice baked potatoes and I had the filet Oscar. Everything was delicious! We had a great evening and will definitely be returning!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 820rebeccau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesney R, Public Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Hi there! We're so glad to hear that! To have you as our guest is an honor we do not take lightly and we are very happy you enjoyed your meal from start to finish. Melissa is fantastic and we're glad she provided you with professional service and took great care of you! Thank you for taking the time to share this with us and we look forward to your next visit! - Chesney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 269 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

From the time we entered the restaurant we were treated like guests. The maitre d was professional but friendly. Our waiter was superb and the food was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. We enjoyed our dinner and most certainly will return

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 88,888,800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesney R, Public Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2019

Hi there! We're so glad you enjoyed your first experience at Sperry's. Too have you as our guest is an honor we do not take lightly and we work very hard to provide you with professional, friendly service, quality food and a wonderful environment. We appreciate you leaving us this review and look forward to having you return. Cheers! - Chesney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019 via mobile

We arrived to lots of empty tables & waiters standing around, but we’re told(without a smile)they couldn’t seat us for 15 minutes. The girl at desk slipped away for a moment, & at least 2 other couples were seated who did not have reservations. We have always enjoyed our meals at Sperrys. The food is very good, service prompt with old world atmosphere. But we will try to reserve a table next time. I hope Sperrys will train the hostesses to be more friendly.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesney R, Public Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2019

Hi Doris, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this review! We appreciate you dining with us. Our hosts do their very best to accurately predict and convey wait times to our guests. We are sorry if this seemed incorrect when you last came in and you didn't receive friendly service. We appreciate all guest feedback and will sue this to enhance our guests experiences. We're happy to hear you always enjoy great food and the atmosphere. Come back and see us again soon! - Chesney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2019 via mobile

Please read full review, but let me sum up pricing and quality.

4 people.
Only water (no alcohol)
1 table appetizer
A burger, 2 Six oz filets and a pork chop
2 sides ($14 total)
15% gratuity
$200.00 even

Steaks good
Burger (friend said it wasn’t impressive)
Pork chop was tough
Sautéed spinach (inedible as it tasted like they poured all the salt on it). I told server and we clearly didn’t eat it but were still charged even after I inquired about it being removed. All he did was offer another one, but we were done with meal by the time he’d come back.
Stuffed mushrooms good

There are far better fine dining options around Franklin.

It’s been a couple years since we’ve visited. The last meal was only decent, that’s why we hadn’t been back. However, I had a gift card I’d been given during Christmas, so we made reservations for a Friday night. Glad we did as it was very busy. We were seated immediately, which was the best part of the evening. Our server was to our table pretty quickly for drinks. After that order was placed we immediately realized how packed they have seating. To the point you bump into others. It was extremely loud as well. Very miserable trying to have a conversation. We placed an order for crab cake appetizer and asked a couple menu questions. It was a while before server returned. The crab cakes were tiny, I mean like 1.5 inches across (I’m not exaggerating) and there were just two. They were only mediocre. The salad bar is “well known” but it’s nothing impressive at all. I’m the only one who got a salad. We waited a while for food and server came by and said he was waiting to put our entree order in until we’d all had the salad bar. What a stupid thing to do, just ask the customer. We’ve got two pregnant girls at the table who are hungry and you hadn’t put our order in because you don’t see them eating salad. That was ridiculous. Food arrived and we ate our meal. The girls wanted desert but they were done with the experience as well and requested we leave. We paid and left.

I was out of pocket $100 after gift card. I would have preferred to give it away and spend $100 for four meals at J Alexander’s or something along those lines. It was a huge disappointment. I will not return even with a gift card. Our friends have visited more than we and even they had complaints to the point they said they wouldn’t return.

There are far better dining options around Franklin.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Citation501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesney R, Public Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Hi there! First, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value our guests opinions and appreciate details of their visits so that we may make each experience better and better moving forward. We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your last visit with us, especially the food and portion size. We work very hard to offer you the freshest and most satisfying dishes and we're sorry you did not enjoy your meal. Our staff works hard to offer you professional, friendly and attentive service every time you dine with us. We do understand that it gets louder when we have a full house on Friday nights. Our establishment is built to maintain the noise levels as best as possible, and we are sorry that the volume affected your experience with us. We would like to learn more and make this right accordingly. If you would send us an email to marketing@sperrys.com with the best way to contact you, our General Manager, Jeff, will be in touch. Thank you! - Chesney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019 via mobile

Our waitress was Amanda. Friendly, courteous, and efficient.

The food and wines were perfect.
There were six of us. We ordered the rainbow trout, prime rib, filet and crab cake and the bbq shrimp and grits. For appetizers we had shrimp cocktails. Large appetizers and the shrimp were perfect. The crab cakes were loaded with crab. Everyone was pleased with their meals.

I got the wedge salad and everyone else got the salad bar. The wedge salad was large.

Dessert was good. We got tableside bananas foster, carrot cake, and the brownie.

Very nice restaurant. We would come back here. We had a very pleasant experience.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank BudNLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesney R, Public Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2019

Hi there! Thank you so much for this wonderful review! Amanda is wonderful. To have you as our guest is an honor we do not take lightly and we are pleased to know she provided you with the professional level of service we hold ourselves to.We are happy to hear you all enjoyed your entrees, appetizers and our famous salad bar! We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your experience with us here and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Cheers! - Chesney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sperry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing