We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean up a bit!”
Review of Mickey Roos Texas Style BBQ - CLOSED

Mickey Roos Texas Style BBQ
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean up a bit!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Food was good but the place was a little dirty and needs some new chairs. Beer was cold and brisket was average for a former Texan dweller .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tripdog002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great brisket and friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I love the brisket quesidillas here. Whenever Mickey is there, he always is sure to mingle with the customers and make everyone feel at home. Good live music, too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewL4287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best bbq since I left Texas”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is by far the best bbq (especially beef) since I left Texas. I eat the ribs quite ofte and they are alway fall off the bone tender. Their sauces are really good expecially the spicy one. The banana pudding for dessert is really good. We've also had Mickey cater to our office and there is never anything left over. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pt8106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
1,824 reviews
1,258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 647 helpful votes
“Good family atmosphere and fun spot for adults on Karoake nights”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Not a bad place to get barbecue in a pinch. There are better places but if you are in downtown Franklin area this is really the only place you should go. The service is good depending on the day and people on has your staff. Brisket is ok and the ribs are better. It doesn't measure up to a Memphis or Kansas Coty type barbecue which you will need to drive to downtown Nashville to get

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Apparently other reviewers have never tried good BBQ. Upon reading other (great) reviews on this place, we decided to give it a try. First of all, the service was not that great. It took forever for our waitress to acknowledge we were there, then take our orders, etc. The BBQ pork was ok (with their sauce, which is awesome, btw), the smoked sausage was pretty good, but the brisket....absolutely disgusting. Not quite sure what was done to it, but it didn't look or taste like any kind of brisket I've ever had. All the portions are quite large (which should be for what you are charged). Other members in our party were disappointed in their meals as well.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LK4Bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey Roos Texas Style BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing