We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Fare with Flair”

The Franklin Mercantile Co.
Ranked #56 of 369 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local Fare with Flair”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Special little bistro with quirky tables and chairs with excellent menu and the best soup in town. Want to come back when they feature music on some evenings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
“Below average Sandwich”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is my second time eating here. The first time it was at dinner it was amazingly great!!! I went in for lunch and got the roast beef sandwich with greek pasta salad. The pasta salad was very good. The sandwich was not that great. For the price I could have made a more delicious sandwich at home. Still I would recommend the Mercantile.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner at the Mercantile”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My mom and I wandered around Downtown Franklin for a while before settling on the Merchantile Deli. They were running a spectacular special--one appetizer, a bottle of wine, two entrees, and a dessert for $49. We really enjoyed the sangria (and I'm not a particular fan of wine) and the atmosphere. They had a great bluesy/country female singer in that evening that really added to ambiance. We have a fantastic waitress who was a lot fun and chatty. It's just a great laid back place. My mom had the salmon and raved about it. I had the pesto chicken would was good as well. Sometimes restaurants smother the pasta in pesto but this was just light tossing. My only quibble was the "Slice of Heaven" dessert. It wasn't really that great, so I would recommend one of their other desserts.

In any case, we really enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and service, and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldhousejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,797 reviews
1,248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 646 helpful votes
“Always friendly and cozy place to grab lunch”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

There is nothing spectacular eat wise at The Merc... The soup is good and the little salad bar they give you with the purchase of a sandwich is nice..Also, has great seating outside and relaxing inside.. the coffee is low grade, bread is good and seems fresh. The deli sandwiches are good but typical..IT is a great place to hang out but will have some serious competiion starting next month with Frothy Monkey moving in right down the street..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockvale, TN
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and great food!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a great experience and can't wait to go back! Reasonable prices and really good food. Went for dinner an had portobello mushroom entree with asparagus and sweet potato pancakes and husband had burger and baked potato salad -- we cleaned our plates!! Service was friendly and attentive. Unique downtown Franklin atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Franklin Mercantile Co. also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Mercantile Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing