We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great "ladies lunch"”

Merridee's Breadbasket
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Merridee's Breadbasket is a bakery / restaurant located in downtown Franklin, TN USA
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wonderful place to grab a quick lunch (great chicken salad and baked goods!) when you are out shopping in historic downtown Franklin.

Thank Marsha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merridees, Interactive Manager at Merridee's Breadbasket, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit, the chicken salad and baked goods. We love being a part of downtown Franklin. We hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Merridee's Breadbasket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 567 of 644 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

With a myriad of choices for food in downtown Franklin, one may end up here at Merridee's Breadbasket. They bake their own bread and desserts, which they prominently display and offer at not exactly bargain prices ($4+ for a loaf of sliced bread). I had the chicken salad, which was good and salted quite nicely (I hate a chicken salad that tastes too sweet--the bane of all grocery store chicken salad buyers) but didn't really stand out against other homemade chicken salads I've had. Portions were okay, but not large. As they are known for their desserts, I don't see this as a problem but more of a marketing strategy. You don't get full off the lunch, so you have to top it off with one of their delicious pie slices. I had a slice of coconut pie--the old fashioned Southern coconut chess (not the fake Yankee type with meringue on top and a pudding based filling) that was very good. It had a good bustling atmosphere which seems to be attractive to the Southern chic inhabitants and visitors to Franklin. It is very near other popular downtown eateries like Puckett's. Perfect for a business lunch or shopping break.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ColonelReb32617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merridees, Interactive Manager at Merridee's Breadbasket, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing Merridee's from your many choices in Franklin, and for your detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your chicken salad and old fashioned pie. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been there twice. The portions are micro and the prices are macro. I had a soup and sandwich (which was kid-sized) at $7. Then you add the drink. I had breakfast there also, which was equally disappointing. If you go there to snack...good. If you go there hungry....you in trouble. Food taste was bland with no substance. I have not had any of their pastriesdesserts, which I guess they are known for.

Positives: Coffee is good. Quaint place. Great location. Great selection of desserts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merridees, Interactive Manager at Merridee's Breadbasket, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with your meal. It's important to us that you enjoy your meal and feel it is worth what you paid. Thank you for your feedback. As always, if you're ever unhappy with your meals, please let us know while you're here so we can make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My group of colleagues decided to go here for lunch on a work day and had limited time. We used much of the time getting to the front of the line to be served and we did take out so we could work while we ate in another venue. Every one of us had something different that we really enjoyed. I had the salmon wrap, and it was great. Diverse offerings, great quality, prices you would expect, and friendly service. They get really busy and the food is really fresh. Probably better to enjoy this when you don't have to be somewhere else in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarenTweetypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merridees, Interactive Manager at Merridee's Breadbasket, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for coming, Karen, even though you caught us at a busy time. We are glad you and your colleagues enjoyed your meals. If you are flexible enough for an earlier or later lunch, we're often less crowded mid-morning around 10am and mid-afternoon around 2pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The baked goods & sandwiches are absolutely fantastic. Very clean restaurant & the service is good. And it is in the historic town of Franklin TN so this makes a good place to re-fortify oneself after a walk through the town

Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merridees, Interactive Manager at Merridee's Breadbasket, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you, Paul, for your kind review. We are glad you enjoy our baked goods and sandwiches. We are proud to be a part of historic downtown Franklin. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merridee's Breadbasket also viewed

 

Been to Merridee's Breadbasket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing