We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & Service”

McCreary's Irish Pub & Eatery
Ranked #30 of 369 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
150 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very small place in historic district - we both had the pot pies and they were very good - flaky & full of filling.

Large drink & beer selection. Very friendly and attentive service - never had to ask for drink refills or anything else - checked to see that we liked the dishes.

Would not hesitate to go back except there are so many other places to try in the Franklin historic district!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiringAt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    89
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Atmosphere....Food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was very welcoming. The food was good but nothing to rave about. They did have a good drink list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good food and great friendly service in a relatively small Irish restaurant. Hard to call this a Pub as their are only a few bar seats and the decor not exactly what you find in an Irish pub either here or in Ireland. Don't think the food will disappoint, however the atmosphere leaves a it to be desired. Location in the middle of Franklin is excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Okay, you can't compare their fish and chips to what you would get in London. (Yes, I know it's an Irish restaurant.) But nowhere are you going to get a big honking piece of cod, so just think Americanized version. Given that their food is good. I usually do their Shepherd's pie. I don't like the bread though.
Cute place, reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtknash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I miss this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

McCreary's is one of the few places I can say that I truly miss about middle Tennessee. My wife and I discovered it by accident while exploring Franklin and we went back many times over the next four years.
The atmosphere reminds me of pubs I frequented while I was living in Europe. The fish and chips are a knockout. Check out the wings and cheese fries also.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCreary's Irish Pub & Eatery also viewed

 

Been to McCreary's Irish Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing