We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always consistent - great food”
Review of Saffire

Saffire
Ranked #24 of 369 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Liberty Pike
Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always consistent - great food”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Visited recently for a business dinner. One of my favorite restaurants. Food is always consistently good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    79
    30
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great drinks & atmosphere”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I always enjoy my visits to Saffire. The food is dependable and the bar is beautiful: huge, carved & antique. Live music happens most weekends. This is a fun place to unwind, meet friends and enjoy a relaxed evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We want to return for DINNER”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While my wife and I were waiting for another appointment we decided to relax and have a drink at the bar in Saffire’s. Seating ourselves at the bar we were greeted right-away by Ali in a very pleasant and welcoming manner. She explained the beers on tap to me and even gave me a sample tasting.

Throughout our time spent at Ali’s station we maintained a somewhat jovial conversation with her and she told us about the history of the beautiful majestic wooden bar. She introduced us to Chef Vinny and they both encouraged us to come back sometime for dinner.

Since our visit was only to the bar area we can’t speak about their menu items but we certainly were impressed with Ali’s attentive service and the look and appeal of the restaurant. For the early hour of 4 pm on a Saturday afternoon that we were there the restaurant was quite full and it probably would be best to make a reservation if you are pressed for time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tough maintaining standards”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've been going to Saffire for years, possibly since it opened. Originally, we went as part of a package with the Boiler Room Theater and we still go about once a month before shows there. The food and service need a bit of a boost to get back to the standard we were used to. First, the menu changed somewhat when a new owner took over a few years ago, which is fine, especially since they left some stalwarts, like the fried chicken and mac and cheese. But, this weekend, my wife, who always has that dish said it didn't taste the same. On the other hand, my corvina (congratulations for getting this great South American fish) and grits was really good--fish not overcooked and the grits excellent. I really miss the old ribbon salad, which one of us still orders every time, wistfully hoping for a return to the original, which was truly cut into ribbons--not wide egg noodle strips--and had more dressing and walnuts. We've noticed that bread is hit or miss, whether it comes and when it comes. That could be because they're always baking the cheese biscuits, which are phenomenal. The service isn't bad; it just isn't as consistent as it used to be. I noticed many new faces this last time, whereas we had come to know long-serving staff over the years. Saffire is still a good restaurant, but some yellow flags have been raised. Oh, and the mix for the band trio is terrible: In most of the restaurant you can hear only the double bass, not the violin or trumpet (?). Thumping bass in an already acoustically challenged space is pretty dreadful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to eat at Factory”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The food is always delicious. the menu has a nice variety from burgers to gigantic pork chop to fried chicken breast (so crispy) over fancy mac-n-cheese.... Bar is beautiful carved wooden antique....live trio weekend nights. Great service, make reservations early, always crowded. Can always count on a delicious meal and good ambiance. Good for friends or dates.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ChaoticSmelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffire also viewed

 

Been to Saffire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing