We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty to do”
Review of Downtown Franklin

Downtown Franklin
Ranked #5 of 64 things to do in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located just a straight shot south from downtown Nashville, quaint downtown Franklin is the perfect sleepy Southern town. Visitors can easily spend a day browsing antique shops and boutiques and dining at one of its many ecelctic restaurants. Downtown Franklin offers an eclectic mix of antique shops, gift and book stores, art galleries and clothing boutiques. Franklin hosts several festivals each year.
golconda
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Plenty to do”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

There are plenty of shops, restaurants, and historical sites within easy walking distance. There is something for everyone shopping wise. And if not there is a mall about 5 minutes away.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rambler022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    256
    46
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't miss this quaint downtown!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We visit family in Franklin twice a year and always spend an afternoon walking around Downtown Franklin. It's about two blocks long and there's plenty to see on both sides of the street. There are lots of little shops and we always make a stop at the Toy Shop to let the grandkids pick out a special toy. Restaurants, candy shops, Starbuck's, antique shops, something for everyone. A nice place to pick up a unique gift for friends back home. In winter the shops are decorated for Christmas.

We always try to take a picture of the family with the Civil War Monument at the north (?) end of town,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank exdisney27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Downtoen”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were here for the Bluegrass festival.., IT was great. Lots of music, food, dance... Streets were blocked off for the festive, craft booths, food and drink booths. Great time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you can't find what you want to eat or drink, it was probably right next door to where you were standing. The local business owners are most helpful and their merchandise is fairly priced. Great place for home accessories.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enough shops to keep you busy for a day”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We took a little side trip to Franklin on a Sunday. Many of the shops are not open on Sunday but we still had a good time. The streets are easy to walk. Shops are on both sides of the street for about two blocks. I would go back again but not on a Sunday. You could spend more time than we did which was about four hours if you didn't go on a Sunday. They also had a number of good restaurants three of which were very crowded. We ate in an Irish pub/restaurant food was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2eat4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Franklin also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing