We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve Wariner”
Review of Franklin Theatre

Franklin Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Franklin Theatre opened in the summer of 1937 when the marquee first illuminated Main Street. The downtown historic landmark closed in 2007 but reopened as a 300 seat venue in 2011 with an investment of more than $8 million to again enrich, inspire and connect our community. It still features classic and recent release movies, community and private events - but most exciting are the live concerts by diverse original talents such as Sheryl Crow, Art Garfunkel, Glenn Miller Orchestra, Vince Gill, Keb Mo and many more.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Steve Wariner”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Go "wait listed" tickets and found the theatre to be outstanding renovation of aol movie house and over the top great venue to see a major artist with appx. 250 seat capacity. Sound was unbelievable and seats were very, very comfortable. Outstanding venue!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonydt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for sharing your impressions of the Franklin Theatre with others. The Steve Wariner show was one of our favorites and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    24
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington KY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to see a show”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We are faithful fans of the band Asleep At The Wheel, if you ever have a chance, go see them. A four hour drive to see them is nothing, and so we ended up at the Franklin Theater. I have seen them in venues as large as 800, but at 285, this was the smallest place so far. A beautiful little theater, and if you are going to see live performances, it is incredibly intimate. As this was music, they had "cabaret seating" in the orchestra pit which gave it more of a night club feel. really great show in a really great place. Eat down at 55 South and you only have a two block walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sweeniesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for the kind comments! We love Asleep at the Wheel, too, and appreciate you travelling to see them. Hope you'll come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great live music experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great seats, wonderful sound system inside a superbly renovated theatre. Great experience. Every seat has a great view and the sound was excellent. Very cozy. Excellent nearby parking garage, wonderful shops and cafes close by and safe neighborhood. Upscale version of Mayberry. Great place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank redbaron41011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Your review means a great deal to us and thanks for sharing your experience. Hope you'll come back again soon! DH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just saw inside... Great Renovation.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

2 lady friends and I stopped, asking could we use the ladies room... Just drove into town.
What a classy renovation !! Although we just saw the lobby, hall and very nicely appointed ladies room, this is an excellent job well done...!!
I know they have got to be very PROUD, and hope their business is booming.
Asking about the renovation, the young lady at the popcorn machine, gave us some information on the theatre, and then recommended the Mello Mushroom eatery down the street.
We loved it.
Thanks..!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iashutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank so much for sharing your impressions and please come again and see a live show, theatre production or movie! DH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsdale, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nostalgic and nice”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great place to take the kids and show them what it was like back in the days before all the multiplex theaters.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and taking the time to share. Hope you'll come back again soon! DH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing