We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Franklin Theatre

Franklin Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Franklin Theatre opened in the summer of 1937 when the marquee first illuminated Main Street. The downtown historic landmark closed in 2007 but reopened as a 300 seat venue in 2011 with an investment of more than $8 million to again enrich, inspire and connect our community. It still features classic and recent release movies, community and private events - but most exciting are the live concerts by diverse original talents such as Sheryl Crow, Art Garfunkel, Glenn Miller Orchestra, Vince Gill, Keb Mo and many more.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just happened to be in Franklin when Booker T Jones was playing the Franklin Theater.
Bought tickets on a whim and was very pleasantly surprised. The young lady at the
ticket booth let us come in and see where we would be sitting. We chose the balcony
but there isn't a bad seat in the house. The sound was top notch and I've rarely had
a better time at a show. I'll keep an eye out for the next great show at this venue.

Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks for the kind comments! Booker T Jones' show was a highlight for us too....amazing master musicians and wonderful people - including our patrons! Hope to see you again soon....Dan Hays, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 185 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Absolutely beautiful and impressive. This is the way life used to be. Reviving small downtown area is important part of our culture and history. Heads up Paducah- take some notes here in Franklin. They made it work and tourism is up.

Thank Namaste-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We appreciate your review! Our community has been very generous in supporting efforts to save the Franklin Theatre and we're happy that patrons like you are helping spread the word and encourage other communities to take advantage of their historic gems. Dan Hays, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the most excellent theater I've ever visited. I had an excellent beer with my popcorn, on the balcony watching a movie with an excellent HD picture with full HD sound in a SUPER CLEAN theater. Outstanding experience. Have I gotten to the best part? NO! $5 movie tickets! TRY IT, ITS AMAZING!

Thank confidentbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

WOW! Thanks for the kind words and we're delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Franklin Theatre. Please come back again soon. PS - We have our very own signature handcrafted dark chocolate bar with sea salt, caramel and almonds - called "Showtime" - that's wonderful with some of our wine selections, too! DH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great production of this play. Purchased the tickets on Saturday morning for that evening's performance and got the last row. The theater was small enough though and it didn't feel like we were that far back. I liked the idea of having tables to sit at up front, although those tickets were pricier.

Thank TNTraveler952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thanks for the kind review and we're delighted you enjoyed the performance of My Fair Lady (produced by Studio Tenn). Please come back and visit again soon! Dan Hays, DIrector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

the restoration was really well done! our family was there for a TobyMac show & the seats were nice & comfy, sound was great, & a really fun setting for a show!

1  Thank tarheelUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for the kind review and we hope you'll get a chance to visit again soon! Dan Hays, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing