We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Revival” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franklin Theatre

Franklin Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Franklin Theatre opened in the summer of 1937 when the marquee first illuminated Main Street. The downtown historic landmark closed in 2007 but reopened as a 300 seat venue in 2011 with an investment of more than $8 million to again enrich, inspire and connect our community. It still features classic and recent release movies, community and private events - but most exciting are the live concerts by diverse original talents such as Sheryl Crow, Art Garfunkel, Glenn Miller Orchestra, Vince Gill, Keb Mo and many more.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historic Revival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Absolutely beautiful and impressive. This is the way life used to be. Reviving small downtown area is important part of our culture and history. Heads up Paducah- take some notes here in Franklin. They made it work and tourism is up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Namaste-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We appreciate your review! Our community has been very generous in supporting efforts to save the Franklin Theatre and we're happy that patrons like you are helping spread the word and encourage other communities to take advantage of their historic gems. Dan Hays, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    22
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aix-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beer & Popcorn: Is there a better combo?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the most excellent theater I've ever visited. I had an excellent beer with my popcorn, on the balcony watching a movie with an excellent HD picture with full HD sound in a SUPER CLEAN theater. Outstanding experience. Have I gotten to the best part? NO! $5 movie tickets! TRY IT, ITS AMAZING!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank confidentbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
WOW! Thanks for the kind words and we're delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Franklin Theatre. Please come back again soon. PS - We have our very own signature handcrafted dark chocolate bar with sea salt, caramel and almonds - called "Showtime" - that's wonderful with some of our wine selections, too! DH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My Fair Lady”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great production of this play. Purchased the tickets on Saturday morning for that evening's performance and got the last row. The theater was small enough though and it didn't feel like we were that far back. I liked the idea of having tables to sit at up front, although those tickets were pricier.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNTraveler952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks for the kind review and we're delighted you enjoyed the performance of My Fair Lady (produced by Studio Tenn). Please come back and visit again soon! Dan Hays, DIrector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast us
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“well done!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

the restoration was really well done! our family was there for a TobyMac show & the seats were nice & comfy, sound was great, & a really fun setting for a show!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheelUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for the kind review and we hope you'll get a chance to visit again soon! Dan Hays, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
600 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Go, Go, Go to the Franklin Theatre !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were fortunate to be in the Nashville area when the Franklin Theatre posted a live concert with Michael Martin Murphey. Having read Tripadvisor reviews about this special venue, I immediately secured tickets and managed to get them in the front row of the Cabaret section directly in front of the stage. Wow! What an experience. Murphey was just awesome, but to experience his (or anyone's) music live in this very special venue, so intimate and with great acoustics is just something else. It will remain one of the most memorable entertainment experiences we've ever had the pleasure to have.

Just an aside: The concessions are very reasonably priced, and it's wonderful to be able to enjoy a bar drink, beer or wine at your place. Kudos to everyone involved at the Franklin Theatre.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mshbnyehud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, General Manager at Franklin Theatre, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you! The Michael Martin Murphey concert was a favorite and made all the more memorable by your kind review of your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Dan Hays, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing