We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, questionable service”
Review of Papa Boudreaux's

Papa Boudreaux's
Ranked #35 of 373 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, questionable service”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We came for the food, and the food was very very good.

Upon being seated, the bartender said they were short and she would be taking care of us and took our drink order. She never came back with our drinks. Someone else came over about 10 minutes later and said he was going to be our server; he took our drink orders and food order. 30 minutes later we were served our food...no drinks. He said there was a staff meeting and would be right back with our drinks. We got our check before we had anything to drink...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sankeymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go at Lunch”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is delectable but the price is much more digestible during the day. We've had almost everything on the menu and enjoy it very much. I recommend following the chef's recommendations - you can't go wrong!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebWhi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food is good...”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food, for the most part, was a knockout, what was left for the day anyway. We went on a Sunday night to take some family from out of town. We had 6:30 reservations and were seated, but no one came by the table for a good 15 minutes. Finally a young lady who claimed to be the owner came by to apologize and take orders. She said they had catered a big party so therefore they could offer no specials, no shrimp and grits, out of some of the other 'famous' dishes ect. So that was disappointing, but we managed to order some things and move on. When it came to ordering entrees however, despite being out of nearly everything and despite the lack of service all together, the 'owner' that served us wasn't having any substitutions or trying to do ANYTHING to make the experience better. At one point when someone tried to exchange their over cooked fish, (which she was upcharged for, despite being out of everything else) the owner picked it up off her plate, broke it in half, and told her it was fine. We were all sitting there with our jaws on the floor! I have never seen a restaurant owner do anything like that, and we dine out ALOT! So, unfortunately that just kind of did for our group. We may try again one day, but not anytime soon. However, the food, which was mostly fried and dripping with butter, was pretty good as that type of fair should be.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lea j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best cajun food outside of Louisiana”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We love this place! The best cheese grits ever. Owned by two brothers, we have never had anything here we didn't like.

A little pricey, so you might want to go at lunch with smaller portions and lower prices. The best deal is the Sunday, Tuesday, or Wednesday night all you can eat. You can try all the popular dishes for around $20/person.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Cajun grub”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Papa's is a small store-front restaurant on Main St. in Franklin. Great convenient location. It is small, rustic/rough, with bench seating at different size tables for about 40 diners, plus two small outside, street-side tables.
They have all the classic Cajun items from gumbo to boudin to etouffee to shrimp and grits to red beans and rice, etc. Service was pleasant, but inconsistent because there seemed to be only one server working the entire room. Servings were plentiful, but honestly, not extraordinary. The gumbo was very light on sausage. The rice in all the dishes was a plain, slightly soggy, white rice. Prices seemed to be a little on the high side relative to the quality/service/ambiance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluffvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Boudreaux's also viewed

 

Been to Papa Boudreaux's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing