We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour guide”
Review of Carnton

Carnton
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Civil War and Plantation Tour from Nashville
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A must see for Civil War and history buffs, Carnton was built in 1826 by former Nashville Mayor Randal McGavock. By the time of the Civil War, Carnton was home to John and Carrie McGavock and it was a large working farm. Over forty slaves lived and worked at Carnton in the years leading up to the Civil War. On November 30, 1864, the site was witness to the Battle of Franklin. Carnton became the largest field hospital in the area following the terrible battle, and in 1866 the McGavock Confederate Cemetery was established nearby. Today the cemetery holds the remains of nearly 1,500 Southern soldiers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tour guide”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had a great visit and it was the best attraction that we went to in the Nashville area including the Hermitage. The tour guide made us feel like we were going thru part of the battle with the family. He made me feel like I was seeing all the troops going by my house and had all the commotion going on around me. I also liked the cemetery and how the graves were laid out by state. I got some beautiful pictures of the estate.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    279
    52
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent History Lesson”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Tour guide walks you through the history and bloodstained floors. Blood Battle of Franklin turned this house into a makeshift hospital and eventual Confederate cemetery. Not quite as good as The Hermitage, but worth the visit nonetheless.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaM7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Interesting”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Enjoyed hearing about the plantation. Our Guide was well informed and courteous. Found the history very interesting and felt the confederate cemetery was very well cared for.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved it Because I Love History”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The tour guide was awesome. I believe her name was Leah. One of the best tour guides I have encountered around the world. I was much more interested in the history of the house, the people who lived there, the Battle of Franklin, and house's role in the Battle, rather than learning about how people lived 200 years ago. You can go in the rooms (unlike The Hermitage where the rooms are blocked off). It was a very hot day, so did not visit the garden, and would have spent more time in the cemetery.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Re-live the Civil War”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Over the years, I have seen this mansion restored to its Civil War era splendor. They just opened the Eastern Flank Battlefield entrance which makes it very easy to access the grounds. The tour guide was very knowledgeable of the house, its history and the history of its owners and inhabitants. The Carnton mansion's place in the Battle of Franklin as the Confederate hospital is truly riveting. The grounds and garden have been restored as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnton also viewed

 

Been to Carnton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing