We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnton Plantation

Carnton Plantation
1345 Eastern Flank Circle, Franklin, TN 37064
+1 615-794-0903
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$62*
and up
Civil War and Plantation Tour from Nashville
Ranked #3 of 60 things to do in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A must see for Civil War and history buffs, Carnton Plantation was built in 1826 by former Nashville Mayor Randal McGavock and was frequently visited by those shaping Tennessee and American history, including President Andrew Jackson. By the time of the Civil War, Carnton was home to John and Carrie McGavock. On November 30, 1864, the site was witness to the Battle of Franklin. Carnton became the largest field hospital in the area following the terrible battle, and in 1866 the McGavock Confederate Cemetery was established nearby. Today the cemetery holds the remains of nearly 1,500 Southern soldiers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Enjoyed hearing about the plantation. Our Guide was well informed and courteous. Found the history very interesting and felt the confederate cemetery was very well cared for.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    232
    44
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved it Because I Love History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The tour guide was awesome. I believe her name was Leah. One of the best tour guides I have encountered around the world. I was much more interested in the history of the house, the people who lived there, the Battle of Franklin, and house's role in the Battle, rather than learning about how people lived 200 years ago. You can go in the rooms (unlike The Hermitage where the rooms are blocked off). It was a very hot day, so did not visit the garden, and would have spent more time in the cemetery.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Re-live the Civil War”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Over the years, I have seen this mansion restored to its Civil War era splendor. They just opened the Eastern Flank Battlefield entrance which makes it very easy to access the grounds. The tour guide was very knowledgeable of the house, its history and the history of its owners and inhabitants. The Carnton mansion's place in the Battle of Franklin as the Confederate hospital is truly riveting. The grounds and garden have been restored as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“"Memorable"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I am still thinking about this tour one week after taking it. The guide did a wonderful job in explaining about the significance of the "Battle of Franklin" and how the house was turned into a makeshift hospital ( with blood stained floors as proof). I highly recommend this tour for anyone with an interest in American History; it is only a short drive from Nashville.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JFK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overwhelming History and Beauty at Carnton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

An absolute must stop for any trip to Franklin!! Carnton Plantation was amazing. Beautifully restored accurate to the owners at the time of the Battle of Franklin. Our tour guide knew the plantation, it's history, the family and Carnton's role in history very well. She answered questions well and made the history come alive so much it even kept my children's attention. The grounds are beautifully kept and the cemetery the MacGavock family created is very moving.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnton Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Carnton Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing