We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Story!”
Review of Carnton

Carnton
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Civil War and Plantation Tour from Nashville
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A must see for Civil War and history buffs, Carnton was built in 1826 by former Nashville Mayor Randal McGavock. By the time of the Civil War, Carnton was home to John and Carrie McGavock and it was a large working farm. Over forty slaves lived and worked at Carnton in the years leading up to the Civil War. On November 30, 1864, the site was witness to the Battle of Franklin. Carnton became the largest field hospital in the area following the terrible battle, and in 1866 the McGavock Confederate Cemetery was established nearby. Today the cemetery holds the remains of nearly 1,500 Southern soldiers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
North Webster, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Story!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you can go to only one place in Franklin them make it the Carnton Plantation! History come to life here in a very real way. Through the passion of the tour guides and the rich story of the McGavick family you will be drawn into this rich tail. We bought the Value Ticket so we were able to tour all three homes in Franklin

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rarmstrong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    938
    282
    55
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great House and Story, Inexperienced and Boring Guide.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The house is beautiful and the story is dramatic, I think. After reading all of the 5 star reviews I was excited to visit the plantation. Unfortunately, we got a young tour guide that had only been working for 2 weeks and should not have been giving tours on her own. Sure, she had a lot to memorize, but her tone was very monotonous and there was no enthusiasm for the subject. I also think the 20 minute description of the details of the battle would be better suited to a pre-tour video, and the stories on the tour should pertain to the family and the house directly. That would keep the tour to a more tolerable 45 minutes. Also, there was no mention whatsoever about the slaves, which was a bit strange.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mlzoiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

After reading "Widow of the South" we had to visit Franklin,TN and Carnton Plantation.
Both were excellent. The tour guide at Carnton was very knowledgable . There is so much history to learn and our guide was in no hurry. She answered each question. Also, I have trouble standing and she went out of her way to be sure I had a chair in each room. This stop is a must if you like history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank billbarb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored historic mansion”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

great tour guides..beautifully restored..moved to this area in 1989 and most of restoration has taken place since then

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but not great......unless you're a Civil War buff.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We got the $30 ticket that gave you access to the 3 historic houses in/around Franklin.

The houses themselves were interesting but I think I wanted to hear a bit more about the people who lived there (including the slaves) rather than info about the cast iron fireplace.

The Carnton guide offered a lot of info on the civil war battles. Too much for my liking but others seemed to enjoy it.

The gardens and cemetery are also worth a look.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ShornGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnton also viewed

 

Been to Carnton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing