We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much in a small place”

cajun steamer bar & grill
Ranked #46 of 369 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Phone 615.435.3074
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too much in a small place”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were just passing through Franklin on a vacation south and found Cajun Steamer's as a close by restaurant with a New Orleans themed menu. It sounded good and the menu looked good also but unfortunately this place has simply outgrown itself. It is basically located in a strip mall and is sized like a narrow dress shop but,,,, they have packed a full blown restaurant, bar, and entertainment all into the space where just one of these might have fit. The two piece band was basically standing in front of the door to the kitchen and had to dodge the servers as they transported food and dishes in/out. The tables are very tight and your neighbor's conversation will become yours whether desired or not. We started with some cocktails at the very small bar. They were OK and priced on the high side. We got a table for dinner but like most of the tables in this place it was so small the dishes wouldn't all fit on it. The food was OK but not well presented. Service was stressed as the place was busy plus the congestion that the logistics caused. I think these folks have something to offer but they really need to re-think the plan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reminds me of a trip to the beach.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Most trips to the Steamer have been very good, this time not so much. The outdoor seating and service was very good, but the food was only so, so at best. We may give it another shot, but it will be a while.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Taste of South Louisiana”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I grew up in Louisiana, so I do know good cajun cooking when I taste it. This restaurant is awesome. They even have Abita beer on tap!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
156 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Feels Like A Seafood Place On The Beach”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love the vibe of Cajun Steamer and their steamed Royal Red Shrimp is, hands down, the best shrimp I have ever tasted. On a good day, the shrimp are HUGE and you get a lot of them. I have only had one or two occasions where they seemed small or average in size. Other seafood options are great as well. The mussels are above average. The "build your own catch" is a great way to try different sauces and cooking methods. Cajun options like étouffée and gumbo are very tasty. The staff is always friendly and service is prompt. The bar has a good selection, although the margaritas are frozen and pre-mixed in a machine. Most entrees are reasonably priced and I've never been disappointed with a meal here. Try the fried green tomatoes if you get a chance! One tip is to call when you are on the way and they will add you to the waiting list so can be seated more quickly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very good cajun food - worth finding”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place has a funky beach-bar type atmosphere. Nice wait staff, TV's around to watch the game and GREAT cajun food.
This is not a place for a romatic dinner or if you are looking for quiet atmosphere, but if you want great food and ice cold beer to wash it down with - drive to Cool Springs and try this place out.
I guarantee you'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBikerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cajun steamer bar & grill also viewed

 

Been to cajun steamer bar & grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing