We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Food and Terrible Service”
Review of Hickory Home Barbecue - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hickory Home Barbecue
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Fairview, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Food and Terrible Service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The fish was cold and not cooked, white beans were not done and the waitress dumped tarter sauce on my iPhone. She was suppose to bring more out and never did. Prime rib tasted tough and like cow tongue. Someone in our party came after the orders were taking and the waitress only gave her the drink order and never took her food order. We were finished before she asked if she wanted anything. This is our 4th trip to this restaurant in about 3-4 months. We have tried to give them 2nd, 3rd, and a 4th chance but will never EVER be back. We have had bad food each time and the service is fair at best. Waitress offered to bring out cobbler for the trouble but then charged $6.50 for it and $2.99 for the little scoop of ice-cream. And the cobbler was horrible (had one or two pieces of fruit--all breading). It's such a shame because Fairview needs good restaurants. This is NOT one of them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible Service & Hair in Food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Three of us had or tried to have dinner here tonight. The garlic mashed potatoes were old and dried out. There was a hair in my baked beans. The steak that was supposed to be medium well was more like medium rare. I have eaten here a couple times before and it was okay. In past visits there was bread brought to the table first thing. Tonight, no bread. When I asked the waitress if they no longer brought bread to the table she said they had no fresh bread and she was waiting for it to cook. About 45 seconds after she left our table another waitress took a platter of bread to a table beside us! The manager came over to see how our meal was and when I told him all the issues he said he would take care of it and especially the steak. He didn't say very much about the hair except he was sorry it happened! He also said they don't serve bread they serve corn muffins. Well the last time I checked corn muffins are BREAD!. Anyway, he brought our ticket back and he had given us 20% off the bill because of our issues and coupons for 20% off our next visit! He wasted those coupons because we will NOT be back..But we will tell everyone we know about how bad the service and food were!! We actually left there and went to LaPlaza and had a great meal!!! Adios Hickory Home!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Even better with a new tweak on the ribs!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went back here to eat and had the ribs which were already a favoroite of ours. This time they were even smokier, and more tender, and the flavorings seemed to have permeated them even better, if htat was possible. They still had the huge servings with plenty for us to take home. This is still great value, flavor and atmosphere for the price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenTweetypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great New Restaurant”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fairview has a paucity of nice restaurants. Until this one opened recently, Dos Margaritas was the only nice, sit down place to eat. Hickory Home Barbecue is a misleading name; in fact it is actually called Hickory Home Family Restaurant now, which is moew descriptive of the menu. BBQ is only a small portion of the menu. They offer a full array of appetizers, sandwiches, steaks, burgers, and desserts. Food is great and the staff is very courteous, Very reasonable prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bunky46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Must try!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Thhe fish is awesome! The restraunt is clean, well decorated and a bery nice place. The owner cares, he is there watching over everything and wants his guests to have a great experience. I would recommend...glad they opened.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lthrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Home Barbecue also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing