We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Etowah - Athens, TN
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etowah
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Very pleasantly surprised. Recently renovated, but seems like brand-new. Exceptionally clean (no smells!), pleasant and professional staff, best hotel beds we've had in a while. Room was bigger and fancier than expected with big walk-in shower. Very pet-friendly. This Red Roof Inn was actually nicer than other much more pricey hotels we've recently stayed in such as the Hyatt in Denver, Peabody in Little Rock, and the Embassy Suites in Atlanta. The complimentary breakfast is a bit basic. Coffee, juice, milk, cereal, and danish. For those visiting the nearby Chilhowee gliderport, this hotel has a special rate of $55.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank berrywd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

This hotel was very accomidating to my needs..... there was a death in the family, and i did not have alot of cash, but had to be there.... the only hotel close enough to the town i needed to be in. The manager, Paydn was very kind to me, he was able to lower the rate for me to make my stay possible for the family crisis...... along with Paydn, was Alexys, the kindest young women ever...... she was the first to let me know about the possible discount, which was music to my ears, allowed me to stay 2 days extra. The young man that worked the over night shift was just as great!!!!! I will have to say though, Jessica whom worked the day i arrived, and the second shift was not kind at all, i specifically asked her if there was any possible lower rates, she said flat out no!, That i would have to talk to the mananger the next day, well Jessica continued with her no kindness attitude the entire time i was there, i was there for a family crisis, and she could not help me????? but the others could????? Jessica overall, had no interest in the customer, or there needs......... she was a dread to see when you came in the hotel for the evening after a hard day! Others agreed! This hotel was great though overall, with the exception of Jessica....... if she had not been there, it would have been a very peaceful visit!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules36920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We have been here weekly for 3 months. This place is an undiscovered jewel.
The good - for a budget hotel, this place has exceptionally clean rooms, nice common areas, friendly, and helpful staff. Pleasant town with great scenery, and many good local eateries, some real hidden gems, including C&W Drive In. Great biking routes nearby with fantastic country scenery.

The only problem has been with the satellite TV service, which was fixed after a few days.
Recommended for a week or a weekend; I'm coming back on my own time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We did not know the area and booked this with the idea of seeing Chattanooga. Unfortunately it was too far to go for a days trip. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. The breakfast area was great with pently to chose from. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adnil48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

This is a great place to stay near the Hiwassee River, Tellico River, Cherohala Skyway, US129 (Dragon), Ocoee River whitewater rafting, Chilhowee Gliderport, Delano, Reliance, Benton, and a lot more of the Tennessee Overhilll Area. Choice Hotels Platinum and Best of Brand Winner. Anybody who wants to tour the best motorcycle roads in America needs to stay here. Unique restaurants and museums. Also good place for mountain bike riders and kayakers, and anyone tired of the same old interststate places to stay that are the same anywhere you go.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scoutSoutheastUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I live in Ohio and we visit Etowah frequently to visit our son, daughter-in-law and 2 grandchildren. We have stayed in a couple of hotels in Athens. This was the first time we stayed at the Sleep Inn in Etowah and the experience was absolutely fantastic. Everyone was pleasant and extremely helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. We will be returning in July and we will NEVER stay anywhere else but the Sleep Inn in Etowah. We really appreciated all that was done for us. Thanks to a everyone for the wonderful visit !!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YTTAM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We found this hotel definitely more up-scale than expected for the Sleep Inn brand--closer to what we might find in a Hampton Inn or Comfort Suites. Rooms are spacious, with windows which open slightly to let in fresh air. Breakfast, included in the room rate, is ample, with several hot dishes and waffles in addition to the usual fruit, yogurt, pastries, breads, juice, etc. Room rates are very reasonable, providing very good value for money spent. There is ample free parking available.

The General Manager was readily available to handle any customer problems, and the staff was accommodating and very pleasant.

Other than a fast food outlet and a grocery store, there are no restaurants within walking distance. The hotel recommended the Farm House for dinner, about a mile distant. The home-style country cooking was excellent, prices very reasonable, and the staff extremely friendly.

Non-smokers should be wary of rooms on the hotel's third floor. Stale smoke smell permeated the hallway, though in our non-smoking room the air was fresh with no smoke smell. Apparently smoking rooms are at one end of the third floor, and non-smoking rooms are at the other end. There was an air purifier running at the end of the hallway, but it clearly wasn't doing a very good job.

One other distraction, which is unavoidable in Etowah, are the very loud train horns. The town is on a busy CSX railroad line and trains run 24/7. Some engineers on night runs seem to delight with excessive horn blowing as they pass through!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Etowah - Athens, TN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Etowah - Athens, TN

Address: 600 N Tennessee Ave, US Highway 411, Etowah, TN 37331-1751
Location: United States > Tennessee > Etowah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etowah
Price Range: $68 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Etowah - Athens, TN 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Etowah – Athens, TN! This hotel is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel located in the famous "Gateway to the Cherokee National Forest"-a wonderland for outdoor enthusiasts! Come and enjoy white water rafting, canoeing, boating, swimming, and fishing in our trophy trout streams and lakes. Or enjoy a Hiwassee River Rail Adventure Train and travel along breathtaking river gorges. Conveniently located right off of TN-30, Red Roof Inn Etowah – Athens, TN features a free continental breakfast and fitness facility! The Red Roof Inn Etowah – Athens, TN has contemporary furniture in our rooms. We feature a free deluxe continental breakfast, free wireless internet in all rooms, and interior corridors. Relax with our free TV channels, pay-per-view premium channels, movies, music, and games, and check out our suites with microwave/micro fridge units. Enjoy our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Etowah - Athens, TN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Etowah
Sleep Inn Etowah
Etowah Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing