We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific value!”
other travelers have booked this property
Side room with double bed. 2 rooms sleep 5.  private non share.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side room with double bed. 2 rooms sleep 5.  private non share.
room 1 with 3 single beds and a side room 2 has a dble bed.  sleeps 5 private non share. Cheshunt Cabins
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Side room with double bed. 2 rooms sleep 5.  private non share.
room 1 with 3 single beds and a side room 2 has a dble bed.  sleeps 5 private non share.
Cheshunt Cabins
Ordinary kitchen but with all basic amenities is in a seperate block and shared.
Map of Cheshunt
Front view looking out across Ryans Farm
Local deer in the forest and the area is well known for rarer Samba deer.
King River - swimming, fishing, canoo, bush walking and picnics. 200m
Boxing Kangaroos and native fauna.
Canoo hire
Australian King parrot and whole range of native birds frequent the yard.
Cattle Muster
Koala - Difficult to find but rewarding to discover.
Vineyard walks
Camp fire available when no fire restrictions.  You may need to help in collecting wood.
Sunrise over vineyards - Cheshunt.
Trout Fly Fishing hot spot  and Murray Cod - in season.
Free range chooks
Alistair 'Archie' Graham -  Master Bookbinder Artist. - your host - speaks English, some French.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
King Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Josephine...
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No fuss, good bed.”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Alistair is truly an interesting man. He made us feel very welcome. Great beds, very comfortable. This is a no fuss easy place to stay as a base for all the beautiful surrounding wineries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Josephine was a pleasure and really nice people, fun, courteous and good company. I can recommend to others. AAA+++
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirley b
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrific value!”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My friends and I (60 plus years young) stayed in the Cheshunt cabins in Cheshunt and found them not only very reasonably priced but delightful! The owner Alistair was interesting and he has created a gorgeous garden. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The kitchen was adequate - we cooked a few meals - with a big table to eat at. Hot shower. Terrific value for money in a beautiful area of Victoria ... went to the dam and a few wineries and walked - well worth a visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden!
Liked least: no egg flipper in kitchen (least of my worries!)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Shirley and her friends were an absolute delight to have stay at Cheshunt cabins and extremely nice people. Shirley even offered some great tips for me on getting the cabins in the best shape. I would wlecome them back anytime and recommend them to any host or guesthouse. AAA+++
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaBH1
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“a very welcome find at the end of a strenuous day.”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

When exhausted from hiking in the nearby hills I was made very comfortable on a short notice drop in stay. Heated room, comfortable bed (with linen etc provided), good bathroom/shower and kitchen facilities, and a welcoming host were a joy to find at that late stage in what had been a very long day. Thank you Alistair I am more than happy to recommend your hospitality to other travelers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Fabulous people and excellent company. I very much enjoyed their stay at cheshunt cabins. They are most welcome to stay again and I recommend them to other hosts. AAA+++
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value, full of warmth and character”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We ( a group of 8 ) spend the weekend with Alistair at his charming guest house, We were cycling between the wineries during the day and at nights Alistair organised a Bon-Fire for us . He was very accommodating and caring and is a fascinating man to have a drink with. Many thanks Alistair !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: country feel
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Steve and his group were an absolute pleasure to have stay at our cabins. Fabulous people, couteous, considerate to other guests, clean and excellent company. I very much enjoyed their stay at cheshunt cabins. They are most welcome to stay again and I recommend them to other hosts. AAA+++
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Wat...
Cobden, Australia
1 review
“Basic and Comfortable”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you don't want 5 star accommodation gormet food and wide selections of wine, but want somewhere that is friendly, comfortable and you are made to feel welcome, the Cheshunt Cabins is an option to consider. As backpacker accomodation the quality is acceptable. Just make sure you travel to Cheshunt directly as the navigation aids will lead you floundering, The location is, after you turn left from the Whitfield Cheshunt road onto the the Edi Cheshunt road (other side goes to Hume Hovell Dam), 80m on left. Signage is not obvious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Its cheap with all minimum facilities
Liked least: Hard to find
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Fabulous people and excellent company. I very much enjoyed their company and chats at cheshunt cabins. They are most welcome to stay again and I recommend them to other hosts. AAA+++
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1741960
Endeavour Hills
1 review
“The Pionneers”
Reviewed December 5, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

If you want a tasted of the 1960 and old fashion hospitality you will have it from Alistair.
It is like the old pioneers time lovely and clean.
The kitchen is like a meeting place for a discussion whit Alistair.
A lovely place to stay ,good hot shower.

We did have a very lovely stay.

Lenie and George..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Lenie and George were fabulous guests and excellent company. I very much enjoyed their stay at cheshunt cabins. They are most welcome to stay again and I recommend them to other hosts. AAA+++
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena B
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honest, homely & comfortable”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What you see is what you get at Cheshunt Cabins and it was exactly as Alistair told us it would be. A work in progress, but clean and comfortable at the end of the day. I travelled with my two sons and my Mum and we were accommodated very well and made to feel very welcome. My 15 yr old especially enjoyed an evening game of chess with Alistair. This will be a great place to stay when it is completed for families and for now it is great value for money. I really look forward to the shower working properly but we plan on visiting again. Thanks!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Serena was a great pleasure and excellent company. I very much enjoyed her stay at cheshunt cabins. They are most welcome to stay again and I can well recommend them to other hosts. AAA+++
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing