We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most charming resturant we have ever eaten at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Choo-Choo Cafe

Choo-Choo Cafe
Ranked #16 of 28 Restaurants in Erwin
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Most charming resturant we have ever eaten at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This is the most unusual restuarant we have ever eaten at. A must see if you are in Erwin. It is like you are eating in a combination museum and antique furniture store. You walk in and select among a few dozen beautiful tables surrounded by antiques. The owner is so friendly and makes you feel welcome. Great value wonderful time. Particularly liked the chicken salad

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The dining is inside an antique shop filled with model train dioramas, autopias and Christmas villages. The food is made fresh daily. We had the Rueben sandwich and a wonderful sun dried tomato turkey sandwich with broccoli cheese soup. Great place to stop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roncourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTCL
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I probably wouldn’t have ever noticed or found this neat place if I hadn’t been visiting a friend in Erwin and he took me there. It’s in the heart of downtown Erwin on, of course, Main Street. It’s not just a restaurant. It’s a repository of model train layouts that actually run. It’s antiques, pictures and very good food. Owner Brenda is a gracious host and treats you like family. Worth the effort to find it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank be400cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great eating:”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Choo Choo Cafe in Erwin TN. is a great place to eat. The atmosphere is very inviting and I do plan to go there again in the near future.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Godsheart1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“UNIQUE Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Choo Choo is part antique store, part museum and part restaurant. I say "part" because it's hard to say what you'll find when you find it open. The owner is charming and her food always good. She cooks what she likes that day and you'll probably like it too. Definitely worth a visit. Have eaten here three times and always delighted.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank arntrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choo-Choo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Choo-Choo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing