We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a great little spot. Have stayed numerous times and they "keep on keeping on." Local ownership is very involved. Cater to locals, repeat customers and AT hikers. Clean and neat, well kept. Not glamorous but very friendly. All you need for fishing, hiking or passing through. This isn't a big chain but definitely worth the stay. Breakfast is average, but there's always cookies in the jar and free coffee and tea. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you. We appreciate our repeat guests. They know us and our willingness to do what it takes to make your stay enjoyable and keep our property clean and well-maintained. As an independent hotel, we look forward to visitors that are new to our property and our area and it is reviews like yours that let them know what kind of a hotel we are, even though we don't have a brand name outside! We are using this opportunity to upgrade the hotel and have recently installed electric doors for ease of unloading and checking in, and our new exercise room should be open shortly! See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    34
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
32
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Payne, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

book a stay here and its just like you booked a room at an HI express, but for HALF the price, .... plus you also get the feeling that they are really happy that you stayed with them!!! from the time we walked in the door everyone we dealt with went out of their way to help. from maps and directions, and things to see and do, to even help with making choices for having us a meal delivered so we wouldn't have bundle up and go out again. :) A big gold star for Melissa, she is a real asset to this hotel ; lots of local knowledge and great attitude :) :) The outside is well maintained and clean. rooms were clean, 2 queen beds were just what the dr ordered after 8 hrs on a bike, air and heat worked fine, showers had great pressure, breakfast was hot with quite a few options... "my" only down is... (soooo trivial) the lighting was dim both in the room and seemed even more so in the bathroom. if this turns you away from this place ------ then great, at least they will still have room for me when we go back !!!!

Room Tip: odd number rooms have an unobstructed view of the town and mtns; even number rooms -- there is a Val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the time you took to write a lengthy review! We truly do appreciate everyone that walks thru our door and it is our goal to make your visit as memorable as possible :) I understand your comment about the lighting, we are trying to be as green as possible with our bulbs but I will assess the impact and see if there is anything we can do better. Our spring colors are as beautiful as our fall colors and we hope to see you again then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I were planning a trip to Erwin, TN for the annual Unicoi Apple Festival where she participates as a vendor. We checked the usual websites for hotel pricing and found that the Holiday Inn Express had changed to a Mountain Inn and Suites. To my shock, the room rates listed were $500 per night! I thought, in Erwin? $500? Seriously? I checked their website and found the same price so we passed on them and booked a room at a different hotel in Erwin. Later on Saturday, while looking at my Facebook account, I decided to let them know that I felt that they were price gouging with such a high price when their normal prices are $85 - $95 per night. They responded that they did that to block online reservations so that people would call them instead. Seems that they want to use some strange process to select their customers. What would be interesting to know is whether or not their explanation was actually true or not and whether anyone booked at that rate? Did they turn down the $500 booking? This needs to be reviewed as a potential fraud and the hotel should have their privileges to advertise rates on other booking websites removed if they are going to attempt to manipulate the system in order to "cherry pick" their customers as they explained. By the way, they must know nothing about Social Media because they removed my post and their explanation. Guess they didn't want the evidence to be seen by others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank rbrown9681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Brown, Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. It gives me an opportunity to address your concerns and fully explain the situation.

In June 2013 our property converted to an independent hotel. At that time we contracted with a new company for our reservation system. Because we are a small independent hotel, we chose a computer system that was simple to operate and had reasonable costs. Unfortunately, it is occasionally too simple because it does not allow us to protect our inventory on high occupancy weekends like our old system did. In the 11 years I have been General Manager, I have never had to look someone in the eye and explain that I overbooked and they have to stay 50 miles away because of my mistake.

By putting the room rates at $500 we were attempting to let people know we had inventory but that it was being managed very carefully so as not to overbook. Many people saw those rates and called us to ask if those were really the rates. Then we had the opportunity to explain the situation to them and offer them what we had available. Our goal was not to cherry pick our customers but rather to create a workaround that ensured we didn't promise someone a room that we didn't have available. With online booking, it is possible for the system to overbook during peak times, and that was what we wanted to avoid. I am sorry that you were put off by our methods.

As you can see by the other reviews, we have a good reputation in this community and online. The removal of your comments on Facebook was an error and we have discussed this internally to ensure it doesn't happen again. We appreciate the feedback of all visitors to our area and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mountain Inn & Suites for 5 days and had a wonderful time. A clean room and comfortable bed are high on my list of must haves. And we were not disappointed. Also, the staff was very friendly and helpful and went above and beyond for us.

Room Tip: We asked the staff for a quiet room and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us when you were in the area. "A clean room and comfortable bed" are high on our list of must haves as well! I am glad we were able to provide those for you. I have a wonderful staff that truly cares about our guests and it shows in their attitudes :) We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Exceptional service, total professionalism and kindness from every staff member, and a genuine
disire to make your stay wonderful. Very comfortalble room, and the bed was the best.(Actually, comfortable enough that my wife bought one of their comforters for our home.) We absolutely will return and highly recommend this place for anyone. And, by the way, the morning breakfast is
was delicious.

Room Tip: We had the Nolichucky Suite and it is very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your stay and the kind comments you had for our staff and our property. We enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice, clean place to stay! Really enjoyed the hot breakfast each morning! Was delicious! The location of it is a little far from everything. Had to travel quite a distance for a nice restaurant. They also gave us easier directions to the racetrack. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the time you took to share your review. We recognize that we are farther out so we try to make sure we have helpful information that makes visit planning easier. I am pleased that you took advantage of the information we provided for getting to the track faster! We look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

In the hospitality industry for over 25 years all over the US was not sure what to expect and our stay exceeded expectations. Clean comfortable and friendly.
Breakfast 6:30-9:30 was also a nice surprise! If you need somewhere clean to rest your head, this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. "Clean, comfortable and friendly"......that is the best we could ask for! We look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwin
21.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
191 reviews
13.4 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
551 reviews
12.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites
Country Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Jonesborough
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
240 reviews
14.1 mi away
Quality Inn Johnson City
Quality Inn Johnson City
#11 of 19 in Johnson City
133 reviews
15.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Property: Mountain Inn & Suites
Address: 2002 Temple Hill Rd, Erwin, TN 37650-7980 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing