We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Inn & Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Brandon, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Mountain Inn & Suites”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I took a quick trip over a long weekend to the Tennessee area and came upon the Mountain Inn and Suites on our last night of our trip here in Erwin. We did opt for the King suite and enjoyed every minute. The staff were delightful and friendly, the bed was the most comfortable bed we had over the weekend, and we had a wonderful view of the mountains from the back of the hotel. No complaints. Staff were very accommodating to our requests for addtional pillows and sheets.Also, great breakfasat. Real eggs! We would definitely stah here again. Only wish there were restaraunts within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are so glad you discovered us! Thank you for your kind comments about our property and staff. We, too, wish there were more restaurants within walking distance but we are happy to have many wonderful restaurants within 5 miles of the hotel. We look forward to your return visit so you can experience the improvements we will be making over the next year. See you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    34
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
32
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I really like the photos on the website of the rooms, so we booked with them. They did not disappoint us with the cleanliness and comfort. The breakfast bar was outstanding, much more than most hotels offer. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone that is passing through the area. We will be back for sure. Lyle & Brenda Lipowitz

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are not the newest hotel but we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and friendliness. Our beautiful mountains are a nice change from your Florida home and we are glad you got an opportunity to enjoy them. We will continue making updates to our property and we look forward to your return visit to experience them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
357 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

When is a new hotel not a new hotel? When it's had a face lift. This place looks nice and new from the outside but in the rooms its' a diff story. Old tub and fixtures in the bath, worn in mattresses. Overly strong water pressure in shower which could not be adjusted. The room stayed warm even with the A/C unit all the way up; the plastic air cleaning screens were clogged with dust/dirt. Lobby was new but the computer sitting in the middle of breakfast area was Nintendo level. There's a pool I dont think was open yet...very small. My room looked out on a gas/convenience store next door. Off I-26 exit but outside of 'town', which was fine as we were passing through. Folks were nice, but this place needs to know how to renovate and not just update. TONS of AT hikers stay here so the trail must be nearby.

Room Tip: N side rooms better than S view in my opinion; S can be over the pool as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikingTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for the time you took to write a review after your stay with us. Our property was built in 1998 and we have taken care to maintain the exterior of the building. We have made updates to the interior of the property over the years and will continue to do so. I apologize for the inadequacies in your room and I will make sure that those issues are addressed with our Housekeeping Manager. As you noted, we are within a mile and a half of the Appalachian Trail and many hikers take advantage of our location to "take a zero". We will be making additional renovations in the next year, adding an exercise room and expanding our business center area. I hope you will visit again and experience our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were on motorcycles and the staff made accommations to keep the bikes dry. We were given rides to take and the hotel had a bike station. The entire staff was polite, friendly and helpful. We suggest staying after riding more then 200 miles a day for 3 days we all were able to relax and unwind after a good night sleep. The breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection. The best stay we have had all because of the staff. Tommy/Charlottte from Alabama

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel and staff. We enjoy our motorcycle guests and being able to share our region's rides with them. No matter how many rides you did, there are plenty more to explore, so please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family stayed at the Holiday Inn Express recently while on a ski weekend in the area. The stay was very pleasant, with friendly people, clean adjoining rooms, and a nice hot breakfast. We usually use the Residence Inn as a standard and this Holiday Inn matched nicely.

Room Tip: The adjoining room concept is good for families with small kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownwillrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our Friendly Mountain Inn. If we made your stay pleasant, with friendly service, clean rooms and a nice hot breakfast we have accomplished what we set out to do every day. We appreciate your nice review and it is feedback like yours that remind us how truly important those experiences are. We hope to see you again, possibly in the summer for a rafting trip on the Nolichucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here numerous times over the past 10 years. Great staff, quiet and centerally located to some great motorcycle rides, price is average for HIExpress, rooms always clean and ample parking for trucks with trailers.... not much in the way of eateries close but Johnson City is just up the road.

Never got a bad room nor encountered unfriendly staff. Standard breakfast fare... great gravy biscuits. Only time I won't stay here is during races at Bristol... prices go through the roof.

Room Tip: Light pollution from all night gas station/c-store on south side. Black out curtains would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyDavidson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you. We appreciate your continued business. We agree that the East Tennessee mountains have some of the best motorcycling roads around and we are located right smack dab in the middle of them!

I know future guests will appreciate your note about the light pollution from the gas station next door. While it is a great convenience to our guests, it can be distracting. All of our guest rooms do offer blackout drapes but they are hidden behind the sheers and side panels. We will most definitely make a better effort to make them visible to guests when they check into the room.

Thank you again for your loyalty and we look forward to a great motorcycling year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This one meets all the needs - clean, comfortable, quiet. Staff was very friendly. Nice to have breakfast ready for you each morning. Coffee and cinnamon rolls were wonderful! Good location if you're interested in hiking Tn or NC mountains. Not a lot of dining options close-by, but there are plenty in towns that aren't very far away. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms along the back have a lovely mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEGeorgiaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and your description of our property as clean, comfortable, quiet and staff that was very friendly. Those are the most important things to us and I am glad that we were able to display them to you and our other guests. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwin
21.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
191 reviews
13.4 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
550 reviews
12.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites
Country Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Jonesborough
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
240 reviews
14.1 mi away
Quality Inn Johnson City
Quality Inn Johnson City
#11 of 19 in Johnson City
133 reviews
15.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Property: Mountain Inn & Suites
Address: 2002 Temple Hill Rd, Erwin, TN 37650-7980 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing