We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Evergreen, Alabama
1 review
“Beyond pleasant”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were on motorcycles and the staff made accommations to keep the bikes dry. We were given rides to take and the hotel had a bike station. The entire staff was polite, friendly and helpful. We suggest staying after riding more then 200 miles a day for 3 days we all were able to relax and unwind after a good night sleep. The breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection. The best stay we have had all because of the staff. Tommy/Charlottte from Alabama

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel and staff. We enjoy our motorcycle guests and being able to share our region's rides with them. No matter how many rides you did, there are plenty more to explore, so please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    34
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
33
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family stayed at the Holiday Inn Express recently while on a ski weekend in the area. The stay was very pleasant, with friendly people, clean adjoining rooms, and a nice hot breakfast. We usually use the Residence Inn as a standard and this Holiday Inn matched nicely.

Room Tip: The adjoining room concept is good for families with small kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownwillrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our Friendly Mountain Inn. If we made your stay pleasant, with friendly service, clean rooms and a nice hot breakfast we have accomplished what we set out to do every day. We appreciate your nice review and it is feedback like yours that remind us how truly important those experiences are. We hope to see you again, possibly in the summer for a rafting trip on the Nolichucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here numerous times over the past 10 years. Great staff, quiet and centerally located to some great motorcycle rides, price is average for HIExpress, rooms always clean and ample parking for trucks with trailers.... not much in the way of eateries close but Johnson City is just up the road.

Never got a bad room nor encountered unfriendly staff. Standard breakfast fare... great gravy biscuits. Only time I won't stay here is during races at Bristol... prices go through the roof.

Room Tip: Light pollution from all night gas station/c-store on south side. Black out curtains would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyDavidson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you. We appreciate your continued business. We agree that the East Tennessee mountains have some of the best motorcycling roads around and we are located right smack dab in the middle of them!

I know future guests will appreciate your note about the light pollution from the gas station next door. While it is a great convenience to our guests, it can be distracting. All of our guest rooms do offer blackout drapes but they are hidden behind the sheers and side panels. We will most definitely make a better effort to make them visible to guests when they check into the room.

Thank you again for your loyalty and we look forward to a great motorcycling year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This one meets all the needs - clean, comfortable, quiet. Staff was very friendly. Nice to have breakfast ready for you each morning. Coffee and cinnamon rolls were wonderful! Good location if you're interested in hiking Tn or NC mountains. Not a lot of dining options close-by, but there are plenty in towns that aren't very far away. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms along the back have a lovely mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEGeorgiaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and your description of our property as clean, comfortable, quiet and staff that was very friendly. Those are the most important things to us and I am glad that we were able to display them to you and our other guests. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A relatively new, clean no frills roadside motel for travelers on the I-26 south of the Tri-city area. Helpful staff, clean and comfortable room reasonably priced. There are no decent restaurants in nearby Erwin, so be prepared to drive to Johnson City for a nice supper, or bring it with you! It is a beautiful little valley with the Nolichucky river running by within a stone's throw. This is the place to stay if you are recreating on the Nolichucky.

Room Tip: This is a quiet area with no night-time disturbances and no local restaurants to speak of. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciated your visit and the time you took to review. It is true we are just a friendly, mountain inn with not a lot of distractions around; however, with the recent designation of the Rocky Fork Recreation Area (just down the road from us) as Tennessee's 55th State Park, we expect to see more recreational development and many more restaurants! Until then, we still have our Family favorites within a few miles of the hotel. We hope you will return soon to our beautiful little valley with the river running by it. I love how you put that.....thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Date of stay: Oct 17, 2012 - Melissa Walker welcomed us at the front desk with courtesy and proceeded to not only handle our check-in very prefessionally, but went out of her way to assist with dining options in town and with making sure we had the mountain view room we had requested, The hotel's General Manager,Margaret Roy, runs a hotel that has a clean appearance, a good typical motel-type hot breakfast and a house cleaning staff that is friendly and thorough in their duties. A nice hotel in a nice, small Tennesse town. (I made sure to ask for their names and titles before leaving.)

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor with a mountain view. Higher floors are always quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the time you took to write a review of our staff and hotel. We appreciate your business and your kind comments. Our goal is to be a friendly, clean mountain inn and I am pleased we accomplished that with your stay. This time of year is when our fall colors are the brightest and I am glad you had a chance to view our area and enjoy the view! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My hiking pal and I have stayed here twice and both times the customer service couldn't have been nicer. The staff bent over backwards to make our stays enjoyable and were very helpful with eating recommendations. The rooms were clean and their hiker rates can't be beat. I would highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATHiker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We appreciate your kind remarks! We feel very fortunate to be so close to the Appalachian Trail and have an opportunity to meet so many interesting people that hike it and the other trails in our area. We would welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwin
21.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
194 reviews
13.4 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
560 reviews
12.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites
Country Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Jonesborough
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
241 reviews
16.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
162 reviews
18.5 mi away
Quality Inn Greenville
Quality Inn Greenville
#4 of 8 in Greeneville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Property: Mountain Inn & Suites
Address: 2002 Temple Hill Rd, Erwin, TN 37650-7980 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing