We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express Erwin Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Reviewed September 4, 2012

the hotel management and staff are very professional and friendly. We've held a motorcycle event there now for 8 years. Every year they welcome us like family....help us make the event a success....all with a friendly smile on their face. the accomodations are good and always clean. the location is awesome for motorcycle riding, the weather good most of the year, and the local economy very reasonable on prices.

I give this hotel two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your compliments! We have enjoyed having the Rune Rally here each year for the last 7 years and look forward to many more years. We have so many great motorcycling roads in the region with "twisties". See you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for our rafting trip that we took with RaftUSA. We arrived at the hotel late and check in was very personable. We checked in like I said late, and technically the pool closed at 10, but the staff at the hotel allowed us to use the pool as long as they did not get any complaints from the other guest (they didn't)...the guy at the front desk got us clean towels to use at the pool and turned the lights on for us although the pool had been closed for well over an hour.

The room was very damp when we got in it, but once we turned the air on and let it run while we were at the pool it dried up (this was probably due to the high humidity in the area).

Will be staying here again when we go rafting again!!!

Room Tip: If you are rafting with USA Raft they offer a special on the pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zackary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Our property sits beside the Nolichucky River and we have a very good working relationship with USA Raft. We strive to be friendly and helpful and I am glad you received the benefit of our good customer service. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had really liked this place when we stayed two years ago, so returned hoping they had fixed some problems. They did; for example, the wifi now really works. Alas, we encountered new problems. We had a non-smoking room but others nearby allowed it and one or more apparently opened their doors because having a gas mask to negotiate the hallway would have been useful (and I am not usually very bothered by cigarette smoke). One of the bed lamps was completely broken. The room had neither a refrigerator nor a microwave. But let me also say what is good about this place. The woman who manages it is super helpful and nice. There is a hiker discount, which we Appalachian Trail buffs appreciated. And the breakfast is terrific: omelet or scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy, plus all the ubiquitous things such as cereals and sweet rolls.

Room Tip: Don't just ask for a non-smoking room, ask for one that is no where near any room that allows sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our hotel. I am glad you experienced a better wifi connection during your stay, we have been working on that. Our property does still allow smoking in some of our rooms but they are restricted to our second floor. Unfortunately, some smoke smell can linger in public areas of the hotel because of our smokers. We make every attempt to eliminate the odors by keeping our public areas clean and refreshed. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel looks good, inside and out. Comfortable rooms, clean. Decent breakfast. Nothing much around but handy enough just off the Interstate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishman-in-theUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Even though my room was non-smoking, I could smell smoke residue in the bathroom. Clean and comfortable. Right off the highway, so the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear dnumme,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here to rest during a road trip. Excellent Service at the front desk, understanding and willing to work with me as I waited hours for the rest of my party to arrive. The lobby is small, but comfortable. Feels like a home living room. The room was clean and comfortable, no complaints there. The view is phenominal both from inside the hotel and outside. If I'd been sight-seeing, I could have spent a weekend happily roaming the mountains and come back to the comfy lobby for some hot chocolate.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harmony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is an awesome place to stay if you are in the Tennessee area. We went down in October to see the leaves, and certainly enjoyed our stay here, exceptionally clean, great hot breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits/gravy, etc. And the price is right, also managed by Americans...don't pass this one up!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwin
21.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
201 reviews
13.4 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
587 reviews
15.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#5 of 19 in Johnson City
467 reviews
15.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Address: 2002 Temple Hill Rd, Erwin, TN 37650-7980 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Price Range: $91 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing