We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort, Quality and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Comfort, Quality and Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Comfort- Beds were very comfortable. We did check for bedbugs and were pleased to find they had none and the mattresses were also cover in plastic for protection.

Clean- Fresh smell, clean carpets even in heavy traffic areas.

Quality- We booked on Priceline for a rate of $45 a night. With taxes and all it was $57.57 a night. Bid on the 2 1/2 star hotel. As of May 9, 2011.

Breakfast- Super. They offered :
Hot food: pancakes, eggs (scrambled one day and cheese omelets the next) bacon one day and sausage the next, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, coffee, hot chocolate, toast, bagels w/cream cheese and peanutbutter and of course the hot cinnamon rolls.
Cold food: 4 kinds cereal, milk, OJ, Apple Juice, variety of yogurt, boiled eggs, bananas, and apples.

It is a beautiful hotel site. Only bad thing I could say is the location near restraunts. There is the main fast food places, plus 2 Mexican, 1 Chinese, 1 Hotdog Place, 1 Dairy Stand, Pizza Places within 10 miles. Closest sit down meals are in Johnson City about 30mins away.

Location: Close to Appalachian Trail, National Forest and Tubing Options. Hotel is right off exit 40.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShortBuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy your visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    34
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
32
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

We went to Bristol Motor Speedway to see the Christmas Lights the Friday after Thanksgiving. My friends sister lives is Erwin and since it was so close this is why we stayed at this location (plus it's $20 cheaper than the one in Johnson City, TN). Nice and friendly staff everything was great! Really nice Mexican restaurant 2 exits from here in front of the Walmart good food and service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayechattprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

We recently stayed at the hiexpress in Erwin, TN. and received the kindess of treatment from all the staff. Room nice and clean, bedding so comfortable, brk.fast very good, location excellent. Couldn't ask for better accom. and will certainly recommend to friends. Good management/good team. Thank y''all for everything.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emgee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

The people at the front desk were very friendly, helpful, courteous. Our suite had an odd smell so they moved us but there was no other king bed available so we had to move to a handicap room. There was mold on the walls and the bathroom floor, especially the shower floor, needed a good scrubbing. We love staying in the new Holiday Inn Express motels and were disappointed at the smell of smoke and other odors in this motel. My husband checked out the other floors and the first floor was the only one that didn't reek of cigarettes or other odors.
On a positive note, there was a good breakfast and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suthengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieerwin, General Manager at Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
I appreciate the kind words this reviewer had to say about our staff, the beds and our breakfast. In reference to their other concerns, I apologize to them for a less than satisfactory experience. The weekend that these guests visited we were full for a large event. We have an ongoing problem with guests smoking in nonsmoking rooms and we are working diligently to discourage that behaviour. I have addressed the cleanliness issues in their handicap room with the Housekeeping Manager and have her assurances that these issues will be addressed and taken care of, with special attention given to these same issues in all our rooms. We appreciate the feedback we get from guests as it helps us maintain the high standards we have set for ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Staying here on business June 21-23 2010. The hotel is always clean (stayed here before visiting with family) and service is prompt and friendly. I saw the maintenance man fixing several little items and cleaning the pool, so you can tell care is given here. I stayed in 301, closest to the front. Room has a 32 inch tube TV, nice lounge chair, nice work area, and a king bed. AC blew cold even in the 95F+ days. Given I was working in a very hot environment, I really enjoyed the pool, just to cool off in the afternoons. They also have a hot tub in the pool area. Only real addition I would want there is a little bit of shade. Note the that restaurants next door at the Appco mini mart are not open, but there are several local places to eat on main street. I recommend the Hawg n Dawg at Union and Main. The only thing hotel experience I would change would be the room rate at $94 a night a little steeper than most HIE's ( just stayed last week in one in MIddletown OH for $72 an night and it was nearly identical in age and condition). But this location is ideal if you are visiting Studsvik or NFS: they are both 3 minutes just up the street. I would happily stay here again. Gorgeous views of the mountains too. I strongly suggest taking a drive over to Asheville on I 26, some of the nicest views in the south. Breakfast like at all HIE's is such a nice thing and sausage, bacon, eggs, gravy, and biscuits are complimented with pastries and fruit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainCoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Room was clean and carpet and bedding in good condition. Bathroom had scratched resin counters, water pressure in sink was a trickle (had to fill my cup from the bathtub), outlet for coffeemaker did not work. Broken seal in window in room, so you could barely see out of it. Pool and hot tub are outside and they were closed at this time of year (not stated in hotel's website). Although we were charged a premium due to a NASCAR race 45 miles away, were left one bottle of water and one small two cookie package, even though room was booked for three people. Breakfast adequate, cinnamon rolls are fabulous.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yorkielvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

Nestled in a beautiful fall setting of mountains, the colors and vistas were breathtaking. The hotel was luxurious, service was outstanding , and the full breakfast was awesome. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erwin
21.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
13.4 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites
Country Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Jonesborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#2 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
17.5 mi away
Value Place Johnson City
Value Place Johnson City
#10 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn & Suites

Property: Mountain Inn & Suites
Address: 2002 Temple Hill Road, Erwin, TN 37650 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Erwin, TN)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Erwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Erwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine....waking up to the scent of fresh mountain air and listening to the sounds of silence. Wake up at the Mountain Inn & Suites - Erwin (formerly the Holiday Inn Express) where every room has a mountain view. We are conveniently located in the Tri-Cities area of Bristol, Johnson City and Kingsport. Right outside our back door is the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting, Cherokee National Forest, river and stream fishing, and many other outdoor activities. Nearby you'll find golfing, Country & Bluegrass music, snow skiing, antiques, pottery, and Jonesborough - a historic village of unique shops, galleries and restaurants. Tour the numerous winding back roads between small Appalachian communities, or simply unwind and relax while breathing in the crisp mountain air. There is much to do, or choose nothing at all. You can enjoy our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. Whether you are a corporate traveler or a hiker/rafter; we have a room and a special rate for you! Let our friendly and knowledgeable staff make your stay in Erwin a truly pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Erwin
Erwin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing