We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geting better every year!!”
Review of Bonnie Kate Cafe - CLOSED

Bonnie Kate Cafe
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We make every effort to provide courteous and professional service while making you feel at home. We want you to enjoy a delicious meal, laugh, smile, and feel as if you are part of our family. We use only the freshest ingredients and utilize local growers when possible, confirming our commitment and dedication to the region. The heritage of the Bonnie Kate is very rich with deep roots in the community. We want to make the Bonnie Kate an important part of all the lives we touch, just as it has to so many since 1926.
butler,tn
1 review
“Geting better every year!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cindy & Brian are doing a great job. Times are rough, understand it cost a lot to go digital on the movies. So proud of you , your having things for teens to do, having music, I was told a few more things you could do. I think your doing great. The café is # 1. Just got to say, Cindy, your 1 in a million. Keep up the good work.. Just let me know when your on T.V .I <3 seeing that. Brian is getting a good reputation on his culinary skills.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandisue596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Real Gem!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Love the husband/wife owner and chef team. Friday and Saturday evening dinners are as top notch as some of the better restaurants I frequented in Washington, DC. DO make a reservation as it is not always open every weekend. Lunch and breakfast are more standard fare.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in old theater. Friendly chef owner.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great food in a theater named for Tennessee First Lady who saved famous military leader. Owner is friendly. You can tell he cares about serving great food and making guests feel welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11yearhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful find in what feels like middle of no where..”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Visiting from Seattle area and so happy to find such a quaint restaurant. Dinner far exceeded our expectations, service was great, live music was very enjoyable..I'll be going back next week for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieandHarriet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A unique restaurant and environment with great food!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Sadly, as you drive through downtown Elizabethton, one can see the former shell of a bustling small city. With this restaurant being off the "main drag", it would be easy to miss the opportunity to eat at a restaurant with local flavor and delicious food; and that would be a shame!!

If you are looking to have lunch at a local establishment away from the "big box" restaurants, this is the place for you. The decor isn't fancy, but unique. The restaurant is located in an old historic theater on Sycamore Street about 1/2 block off of the main street through the Elizabethton downtown area.

When we went our waitress, Jessica, was very helpful in getting us seated and always efficient at refilling our drinks. Our sandwich and wrap that we ordered, (a panini and buffalo chicken wrap) came with homemade potato chips which were delicious with just the right amount of seasoning. One could tell that this is a popular place for lunch in Elizabethton and if more people were aware of it, they would be even more busy on any given afternoon.

Although we didn't even have room for all of our lunch, I wanted badly to try the desserts; but just couldn't. Prices were reasonable as well. Take the plunge and be sure to find Bonnie and Kate Cafe for lunch, you won't be sorry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnie Kate Cafe also viewed

 
Elizabethton, TN
Elizabethton, TN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing