We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A baked bean factory? Who'd of thought?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bush's Family Cafe

Bush's Family Cafe
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Dandridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sevierville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A baked bean factory? Who'd of thought?”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Out for a bike ride around Douglas Lake. We actually stumbled upon the Bush's Baked Bean plant in Dandridge, TN. Noticed they had a cafe, the time was right, so why not. About a 15 minute wait to be seated in the covered, outside dining area, that we requested. The menu was sandwiches, salads, catfish and such. Of course beans as a predominant side dish. Surprised when the Philly Cheesesteak was actually very good. Not Pat's, but much better than I expected in Eastern Tennessee. The wife had a BLT with Applewood bacon that she enjoyed as well. Prices were very fair. A pleasant surprise for a quick lunch stop. They also have a General Store and Museum on premise, so stop in if you get the chance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joeknows263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    75
    31
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summersville, wv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beans for Lunch”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

They give you a taste of different beans. The lunch was very good.Great place to bring your familly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannylamb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple food, great prices”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were there for lunch on a Monday, just passing through on a road trip. The food was simple with plenty of bean choices. I wish they would have played it up a bit and used beans as ingredients in other dishes/more unconventional ways than straight out of the can, but maybe that would drive away their core demographic. I think they must have had a few servers not show up that day because despite it being a beautiful, sunny day the outdoor seating area (which would have been a much nicer place to sit than the sterile cafe seating indoors) was closed and they were turning away customers with warnings for long waits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zsazsa-stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“try the pinto bean pie”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The food was very good and reasonably priced. The building was immaculately clean, and the service was fast and friendly. Be sure to try a slice of pinto bean/pecan pie. It was different, but pretty good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Biotcher38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“A Nice Place To Eat and A Very Nice Free Museum”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We wanted to see this place since we were on vacation (Summer Vacation (July 2013) )in Pigeon Forge, TN, and this place is not a long drive away. We ate at the Restaurant, which does not stay open past 3 or 4:00pm, and they have a nice menu and a kid menu. They give you a free sample of their Bean Soup of the day, which is a tasty treat, when we went, it was a Bean Soup with a Chili SouthWestern Seasoning. They have delicious homemade deserts, we were too full to try it, but it looked yummy. Clean and cozy environment, family friendly.

The biggest highlight is that they have a Museum Visitor Center (closes at 5pm), which is not only FREE for everyone, but is Fantastic, and the whole family can enjoy it. They have a lot of hands on exhibits that children will love. I learned so much about the Bush (Bean) Family Business and how much they have been around and involved in so many products throughout the times indeed. The exhibits were enjoyable and educational for all. They also give you a free photo, and then put your photo into another photo with their famous and loving dog "Duke", who now has the "Family Secret" on the Bean Recipe. They also have a nice gift shop that you Exit through, but it is worth visiting, and they have some reasonably priced gifts and memobilia of the Business, and stuffed "Duke" dog animals, so cute. Friendly Staff and good service in both the Restaurant and the Visitor Museum Center. Worth the trip indeed, and we highly recommend this place. You won't regret the visit not one bit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DeoniaNeveu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bush's Family Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bush's Family Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing