We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast
Monticello, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neat Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Knew nothing about the area before arrival but wanted a simple quite get-away and that's exactly what we got. It was a unique experience and my finace' and I enjoyed it very much. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and very welcoming. Breakfast/coffee and snacks were all great and it was nice having anything we wanted readily available. We both felt like we were at home! I will say that if you are looking for a super exciting area this is not the place however Knoxville is only about one hour away and there is plenty to do there. This was a nice place to come back to after a hectic and loud trip. Felt like I was stepping back in time to a quiter more relaxed time period. The tavern and winery were both closed though, which was sad. Hopefully there will be more open in Cumberland Gap if we decide to visit again. However, the little coffee shop by the B&B has very good food and drinks! Great experience, would go back for sure.

Room Tip: Stayed in Creek Side room and it was very calming with the water splashing outside. If you dont lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
71
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I studied the inn's Website before we arrived at this historic inn and found it to be exactly as described. Yes, the place is over a hundred years old, but that's part of its character. We stayed in the Creekside Room, which was very clean and comfortable and furnished with antiques. This room was on the second floor, and we could literally hear the creek water rushing by. The old mill wheel, which the owner is restoring, was just outside our windows. The Website has lots of photos and a description about how this project is progressing. The town of Cumberland Gap is tiny, but we'd been there before on a day trip a few years ago. We are not hikers, but people who enjoy hiking and appreciate the tranquility of the area and the adjacent Cumberland Gap National Historical Park (where Virginia, Kentucky, and Tennessee meet) are likely to enjoy their stay in this little village. The Olde Mill Inn serves a hearty, delicious breakfast at 9 a.m. During our 2-night stay, we drove to Middlesboro, KY, and Harrogate, TN, for lunch and dinner. Both are less than 5 miles away. Miss Kathy, who lives at the inn, made us feel welcome, but we are not high-maintenance people. There is a wireless connection, so I could use my iPad. Also, the inn offers satellite TV, but we weren't inn our room very much. I would definitely recommend this B&B to travelers who value an experience different from what you might get from cookie-cutter hotels.

Room Tip: Look at the Website for photos and descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powellpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegapmill, Owner at The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you! We love the old girl too. So unique and different. We are glad you had a great time.
thank you for visiting us and seeing all the cool things there are around here to do.
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I went there for our 30th wedding anniversary, a mile-stone for us and thought it would be nice to try another B & B in our lovely state of Tennessee. We were greeted by the innkeeper who looked like she just got out of bed, and it was 3:30 p.m. The amenities assured us on their webpage were not provided without alot of prompting from us. Coffee was never available until breakfast, the common area was dirty and the laundry was visible from the kitchen as a laundry basket filled to the top lay in the doorway between the common area and kitchen. We never felt comfortable in the common area, so we remained in our room most of the time while on the premises. There is very little to do in the town, two or three antique stores, and a bar/restaurant, nothing much to do there because it allows smokers, so not fun to breathe all that in. Would come back to the innkeeper laying on the couch watching t.v. no offer of making coffee, so we packed up and left slightly after breakfast on the 2nd day. Breakfast was ok, but small portions, not family style. All in all they charge you a "resort" fee along with your standard taxes. Not worth the $ to us.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandJJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegapmill, Owner at The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I am sorry that you were not greeted in the way you expected. I do apologies if she looked like she just got out of bed. The day you arrived she had just found out that her step-son was being taken off life support and had a lot on her plate. She had told us she was ok and wanted to keep working, it helped her.

Free Fresh Ground Coffee, Tea, Hot chocolate and Bottled water ARE available 24/7 and are self serve. As you were told when you check in and as in our room information books. We do not leave coffee in the pot to burn and it takes 3 mins to make a pot of coffee in the BUNN coffee maker and we are ALWAYS willing to make a pot. Being coffee drinkers ourselves all you had to do was ask if you did not know how to work a coffee pot.

Running a Bed and Breakfast in your HOME does require that the ironing/laundry be out where we can do it. The best place to do about 3 hours worth Ironing of pillowcases/napkins is the Living room where you can watch tv and help guest at the same time. We do our best to keep it out of anyone's way. I will address the sitting on our couch when guest are there wanting to watch the TV in the living room.

As for the town, it is small, that's what makes it so wonderful. I am sorry you were looking for big city. That would be Middlesboro, KY (about 1 mile away) which was on the great "to Do " list while you're here sheet, we provide you with when you check in. There is enough FREE things to do on that list for 3 days.

AS for the Resort fee. It is on your LIVING SOCIAL deal page, which you should have read BEFORE you bought the deal. It was not a surprise fee. It states it all on the deal right up front. We make very little on the LS deals after you get HALF off and then LS gets there 35%. We do not pay your taxes nor does LS.

NOW as for Breakfast! in the 4 years we have ran the B&B NEVER has anyone EVER said they got too LITTLE for Breakfast! In fact it's always is TOO MUCH! There is always - 2 large eggs, 2 slices of either Thick cut Smoked Bacon or Sausage, and a main dish, OJ, Coffee, fruit...winter there is Steal cut oats too. We NEVER said we serve family style or Buffet. Seconds are always available and offered.

We are sorry it was not what you wanted, I think our staff, our website and Living social do a great job of describing what we have to offer and what you will recieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay at the Old Mill B&B. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were excellent and the Inn keepers friendly and helpful. We enjoyed hiking and would stay at the Old Mill if we go to Cumberland Gap again. Thank you Katrina and Kathy!!!
Great time and good memories.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Olde Mill Inn is one of my favorite places. I always stay there when I visit the Cumberland Gap area. The rooms are great. The owners are really nice and helpful. The breakfasts are excellent. The rooms are well decorated and clean. The property is located in the little town of Cumberland Gap and steps away from the Cumberland Gap Tavern in case you need to have a beer. It is also located near the Cumberland Gap National Park Visitors Center and Lincoln University. Middlesboro is right across the border in Kentucky. They have the Daniel Boone room that would be great for families with children. It was supposed to have been a headquaters of a general during the Civil War. I am looking forward to my return to this property.

Room Tip: Daniel Boone room is great for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for sterile city lodging you've come to the wrong place. However, The Olde Mill Inn B&B does provide a corner of heaven in the Cumberland Gap. This is not a hotel, rather a home open to travelers. It is quaint, clean, welcoming, and cozy. My husband and I enjoyed our weekend walking the quiet few blocks of the town, hiking the National Parks, taking our time while hiding from the big city lights. We plan to return with our children so they can experience the long-lost freedom of biking and hiking all over a small town.

The owner, Kathy, is a gem. She is kind, helpful, and has a servant's heart. I highly recommend this home away from home.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Pinnacle and it's large window and beautiful view. We look forward to bringing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaRoKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I were headed to Asheville, NC, from Louisville, KY, and decided at the last minute to take the side roads and stay off the highways. We also were looking to take a very relaxed road trip, so we broke the drive into two 3 hour stretches. On Thursday, 11/8 I was lucky enough to book the Pinnacle Room at The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast for Friday, 11/9/2012. Driving into town, my husband was a bit concerned. They really roll up the sidewalks in Cumberland Gap around 6pm and things did not look promising.
Oh, how delightfully wrong we were! We received a warm welcome and were immediately escorted on a tour of the property. Amenities include a large common living area, free snacks (cookies, chips, fruit), an "honor" fridge where they had a good selection of beer and use of this fridge if you need it for personal food items.
The Pinnacle Room was fantastic. A large window gives a view of Pinnacle mountain that is just lovely. The room itself is lovely and super clean. We also found the bed to be extremely comfortable and were happy with the satellite t.v. channel selection. There are games available for guest use and, dorks that we are, we had a fun time playing yahtzee later in the evening.
We needed dinner and the food selections are not extensive in Cumberland Gap at night. The inn keeper pointed us to The Cumberland Gap Tavern a block away as a place where, "Good bar food for a good price, nice people & no fights or any nonsense." That's exactly what we got. The dart boards were pretty fun too. FYI: The tavern is a smoking establishment, so please either do not go there if that is a problem for you or get your food to-go.
Friday morning we shared a breakfast table with several lovely couples (there is one 9am sitting at the large table). We were served french toast, sausage, eggs and fruit. There was also coffee, tea, orange juice and water available. All of the food was delicious.
Some interesting points: The Inn is reputed to be haunted; there are some really cool murals painted in the common area left from when the property was an art school; the mill wheel still works and they are in the process of preparing the actually milling equipment for future use; there are lots of family friendly hiking trails in the area; there is a bike museum behind the Inn that is supposed to be cool (we were unable to go).
We had a wonderful experience and I am already planning our next trip to the lovely inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland Gap
10.1 mi away
Pine Mountain State Resort Park
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Middlesboro
24.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Harlan
Comfort Inn Harlan
#1 of 1 in Harlan
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Best Western Wilderness Trail Inn
15.1 mi away
Woodlake Lodge
Woodlake Lodge
#2 of 4 in Tazewell
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Gap Inn
Cumberland Gap Inn
#2 of 2 in Cumberland Gap
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 603 Pennlyn Ave, Cumberland Gap, TN 37724-4765
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cumberland Gap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cumberland Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true getaway! This historic grist mill in quaint, walkable Cumberland Gap, Tennessee offers year-round hiking, history and nature at its best. Come explore our secret little corner of Tennessee! Snuggled in historic Cumberland Gap located in the Cumberland Mountains of East Tennessee, The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast is a romantic, unique bed and breakfast where first-class service and amenities are standard. A full, hearty breakfast, offered every morning of your stay, will get you started for a day of exploring the area. There are 25,000 acres of National Park and miles of hiking/biking trails right out the front door of the Inn. Feed the trout in the creek adjacent to the Inn and listen to the 1800's Fitz mill wheel as it slowly turns. Enjoy antique shopping, dining, exploring the local cave and Town of Cumberland Gap. LMU(Lincoln Memorial University, with its picturesque campus and Lincoln Museum, is 2 miles from The Olde Mill Inn. The Inn is updated with many of the amenities you come to expect - but are surprised to see - in this historic property: such as, flat-screen TVs, cable, complimentary Wi-Fi, electric fireplaces in many of the guest rooms, and jetted tubs in each of the king guest rooms. We also welcome corporate and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Mill Hotel Cumberland Gap
The Olde Mill Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing