We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast
Kingston, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights in the Daniel Boone room and was thoroughly charmed by it. The food was amazing as well. We would go back any time!

Room Tip: We peeked at some of the other rooms and they all looked really nice. Our room had bunk beds so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LETC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    15
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
72
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartwell, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have stayed here many times. It has always been a nice, clean and VERY friendly stay. It makes me and my husband feel more like close friends of the family not guest. The breakfast is a full plate and that is the only size they know. Hester; the owner says she doesn't like to see people leave the table hungry. While yes it is a full breakfast its not one that will send you to a heart Dr. when you done.
The room are good size and bed are clean and comportable!! They provide complimentary snacks, drinks, freash backed cookies,and other goodies. Which is nice not having to pay $2.50 for a can of soda like other B&B's and resorts charge.I have visted top rated spa's and this one rates up there with them. It is just so nice at the B&B and there in the Gap.
It is hard for me to get time off from my producing job here in Nashville, but this is the one place we love to come and get away. We are on our way home from a stay there now and just had to wirte this while I had time in the car. 3/15-3/18/201

Hester if you see this THANKS again for a quite weekend!

Room Tip: We love the suite, 1st pick, cabin 2nd , front parlor 3rd and creek side, 4th, nope sure on others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The good: Clean room, nice comfortable bed with a big flat screen TV, plush bath robes, friendly people, beautiful location and a charming town.

The not-so-good: When we checked in, we were sent to the wrong room, there were no drinks in the fridge as promised except for some bottled water (I believe they've now changed their site to reflect this), paltry snacks, no soap in the shower, no one straightened out our room while we were out for the day (even Motel 6 does that).

The bad: One of the owners told us to travel 12 or so miles out of town to eat (dark, country roads – not fun) because the local in-town restaurant a block-and-a-half away was “dangerous.” We found out the local restaurant was, in fact, delightful and we could walk to it. Maybe the fact that the owner had just opened a bar/restaurant many miles away and seemed more interested in that explained her reluctance to stay local. One of the reasons we stay in B and B’s (and we have been to a LOT) is the guidance provided by the innkeepers about local attractions and eating places. This place, alas, was sadly lacking in that regard. We were referred to the owner’s 8-year-old son for information about hiking trails.

We had originally booked the room for 3 nights and while the room and breakfasts were fine, there was nothing else to see in the area (or if there was, the owners couldn’t tell us about it) and it was raining, so we decided to leave. We were the only people at the Inn when we decided to check out and the sweet lady acting as innkeeper was unable to process credit cards so she referred us to her daughter (we called her on the phone)who referred us to her daughter (the one opening the bar, but unavailable) and . . and . . . we never received a statement and, in fact, never charged the card except when we provided a card number over the phone weeks earlier to hold the room. Imagine our surprise when we received our credit card statement and discovered we were charged not for the 2 nights we stayed or even 3 nights but for an amount that would suggest we were charged for 4 nights! We called up one of the owners (the one with the new bar) and she explained it was “policy” to charge the full amount originally reserved, even though there was no one there so no one was being bumped because we left early. In any event, the owner refused to discuss the matter and simply hung up on us! We still don’t have a statement and aren’t sure what our charges are.

Of course this is only my side of the story and readers should draw their own conclusions. But here’s the short version from my point of view: this is a beautiful old inn with some nice (and occasionally, crabby) people running it who are in over their head with multiple business interests and are not paying enough attention to this one. I hope they get it corrected. It’s a great old place and deserves better from its owners. Oh, yeah, and make sure you get a statement BEFORE checking out.

Listen, I don't routinely badmouth B and Bs we've stayed in (check out my other reviews) and I'm not badmouthing this one. I don't expect perfection, just professionalism. By the way, we disputed the charge with our credit card company but they wanted to see the statement. Alas, that was the problem. We never received a receipt. Sure, it was our fault, but it was sloppy on the Inn's part also. I guess that's the adventure of travelling. . . .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spypoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Its located in a small little town but that's what makes the whole experience what it is! Hiking trails are amazing and the bed and breakfast is WONDERFUL. By far one of the best breakfast's I've had. I was truly blown away with it. Very cozy and romantic. You'll love it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had a living social escape for this wonderful Inn and I didn't really know what to expect, but it was absolutely wonderful! Though we are from Kentucky, we'd never been to Cumberland Gap and we just loved all the parks and natural beauty there. Our visit was at the end of January, so it was a bit cool and the vegetation was not nearly what it would have been in a few months, but we still had a great time. Hester was a delight at the Inn and the breakfast was to die for! We had chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us when we arrived and our room was very comfortable. This Inn is directly across from The Furnace and trails into Cumberland Gap -- we plan to return when it's a bit warmer as several things were closed as we were there in "off-season.". Don't worry about places to eat . . . though Cumberland Gap itself is very small, there are other places to eat within a 5-10 minute drive that will fill your tummy. We ate at The Gondolier in Harrogate and it was decent Italian food at a very reasonable price. This inn is very rustic, but that just makes it a neat experience -- after all, it was there when Daniel Boone came through! We plan to return and I'd highly recommend The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wbandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Minutes from the Cumberland Pass, this inn is such a gem, Boone would have settled there for good. Well, it wasn't there at the time, but we are more lucky.
Cozy, big rooms, well heated and stocked, great communal dining room for breakfast, amazing vista, all run by the most welcoming innkeepers.
Whether it's a stroll in the small village or a vertical hike to the gap observatory, this is an excellent base to tour the beautiful countryside, all the way to the falls.
Definitely a keeper.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed in the suite and loved every inch of it. The bed to the jacuzzi were all perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xheda3j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland Gap
10.1 mi away
Pine Mountain State Resort Park
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Middlesboro
20.5 mi away
Best Western Wilderness Trail Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Woodlake Lodge
Woodlake Lodge
#2 of 4 in Tazewell
31 reviews
24.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Harlan
Comfort Inn Harlan
#1 of 1 in Harlan
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Gap Inn
Cumberland Gap Inn
#2 of 2 in Cumberland Gap
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 603 Pennlyn Ave, Cumberland Gap, TN 37724-4765
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cumberland Gap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cumberland Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true getaway! This historic grist mill in quaint, walkable Cumberland Gap, Tennessee offers year-round hiking, history and nature at its best. Come explore our secret little corner of Tennessee! Snuggled in historic Cumberland Gap located in the Cumberland Mountains of East Tennessee, The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast is a romantic, unique bed and breakfast where first-class service and amenities are standard. A full, hearty breakfast, offered every morning of your stay, will get you started for a day of exploring the area. There are 25,000 acres of National Park and miles of hiking/biking trails right out the front door of the Inn. Feed the trout in the creek adjacent to the Inn and listen to the 1800's Fitz mill wheel as it slowly turns. Enjoy antique shopping, dining, exploring the local cave and Town of Cumberland Gap. LMU(Lincoln Memorial University, with its picturesque campus and Lincoln Museum, is 2 miles from The Olde Mill Inn. The Inn is updated with many of the amenities you come to expect - but are surprised to see - in this historic property: such as, flat-screen TVs, cable, complimentary Wi-Fi, electric fireplaces in many of the guest rooms, and jetted tubs in each of the king guest rooms. We also welcome corporate and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Mill Hotel Cumberland Gap
The Olde Mill Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing