We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Cumberland Mountain State Park
Ranked #2 of 124 Restaurants in Crossville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A State Park with it all. Built during the Depression, this park has won awards for the food served in its cafeteria. The cabins are old and wonderfully "period" with fireplaces. Camping, hiking, fishing, boating...it's all here. Only a few miles south of downtown Crossville and about 10 miles from exit 317 off I-40. Make reservation, especially during fall.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank advicefromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    101
    37
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great buffet. Always crowded, but worth the wait.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

More than enough to eat. Food was excellent, we ate twice while we were in Crossville, TN. Although it was crowded, we did not have to wait long. Fish buffet was excellent, and so was the chicken. At least 3 entrees, excellent salad bar and desert. Price is right.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jonbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
1 review
“nothing to write home about.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I was very unhappy with this place. The only thing good was the catfish. We had poor service, needed refills,we had to run down our waitress. The place was highly recommened, but I thought it was poor and pricey for what you got. We had no breads of any kind , not much of a choice on the buffet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nannasue27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have eaten here many times over the years and I'm always impressed with how good the food is. It's nothing fancy, but it is comfort food. This day the entrees were meat loaf and baked chicken. There is a really nice salad bar with a nice selection of toppings and dressings, plus country-style vegetables like green beans, mashed potatoes, and corn. Desserts this day included banana pudding, apple cobbler warm from the oven, chocolate cake, coconut cake, and soft-serve ice cream. The food is served buffet-style and many choices are labeled with nutrition information.

The restaurant itself has huge windows that boast a gorgeous view of the woods and lake just outside.

Prices are very reasonable and the waitstaff is attentive. This is a popular destination for large groups so I would recommend arriving early.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mtn_Traveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always great food!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently traveled to Crossville, TN and there was only one place that I requested to go out to eat dinner, Cumberland Mountain State Park. The Sunday buffet was great specially considering that the 127 corridor sale was just ending and we expected to see the restaurant packed. The wait staff and very friendly and even the chef came out to the buffet to insure that everything was proper. He was very proud of the chicken and pulled pork as well as the vegetables that he had prepared. We have been going here for over 12 years and have never been disappointed. Hopefully we will be able to continue to visit this location for another 12 years or more..............

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 44SueH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cumberland Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing