We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ribs and sauce” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lefty's Barbeque

Lefty's Barbeque
Ranked #8 of 122 Restaurants in Crossville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great ribs and sauce”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I love Lefty's sauce, in particular, the mild. I almost always prefer a hotter sauce, but this mild has a great flavor. It's kind of thin, not as thin as Carolina sauce, and not too sweet. Good balance of sweet and vinegar.

The smoked ribs were excellent. The chicken was not good. The white meat was very dark, for some reason. I think it may have been kept hot all day. Not sure, but it was not good. The sides (typical bbq sides) were not special.

Atmosphere is small town dive. They close at 7:30 PM. Yes. That's right. 7:30. PM. Is the time they close. I don't even....

Stop in and buy a bottle of the sauce, though (prior to 7:30 PM).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Apple H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    65
    28
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burtonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Barbeque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a little out of the way barbecue shack that I stumbled upon about two miles after exiting interstate 40. I had the pork tenderloin sandwich with some corn and coleslaw. The meat was tender and delicious. The service was quick and friendly. The owner even walked out and made sure to talk to everyone in the dining room. Prices were way cheaper than what I'm used to in the big cities. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank visi2r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Moist and great sauce.we liked the cole slaw very tasty. Bought a bottle of sauce. Our friend didnt care for his chicken sandwich. Service was quick

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gale17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best BBQ ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Sorry Virginia, but this BBQ is awesome! We arrived around closing time, but the service was terrific. We had our meals within 10 minutes - even though we kept adding more to our order. It was a fabulous meal after driving 6 hours that day. Today we went back to get ribs and pulled pork, along with their delicious BBQ sauce as gifts for our kids. We'll definitely be back- all the way from Massachusetts!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pamsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEST BBQ!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

LOVE This Place...Lived Here In Crossville 20 Yrs. Went To Lefty's When It Was Also At VF Mall...Everyday For Lunch...Wish They Would Open Another In Town...I Can SMELL It Now MMMmmmmmm :-))

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lefty's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing