We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Great View”

Carver's Orchard & Applehouse Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Cosby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waynesville,NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great View”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

If you like the hustle and bustle (not to mention the traffic!) of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, this place is probably not for you. However, if you are looking for a nice meal in a gorgeous rural setting, I suggest you try Carver's. Located in Cosby, Tn on the more peaceful, less touristy side of the Smokies, Carver's specializes in attentive service, really good homestyle food, and a fabulous view! My only complaint: they don't offer outdoor dining. In good weather it would be icing on the cake-

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank szphllps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    164
    60
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, views, and service”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We loved the food, views, and the service. They serve cold apple cider and warm fritters with apple butter before the meal. The prices were reasonable. We visited the store that is connected and discovered a great selection of jams, sauces, fruit, and pickeled items. We would go again if we come back to this part of the country.

Helpful?
Thank SfomTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best meal we had by far on our trip to the Smokies”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were staying in Gatlinburg and had yet to eat a decent meal. A friend recommended Carver's and even though it was a bit of a drive, we were happy to rest our legs after a day of hiking. We were not disappointed. The drive from Gatlinburg was beautiful and we were rewarded with amazing food. We were immediately served glasses of cider and hot fritters. For dinner, I had chicken 'n' dumplings, my husband had the trout, kid one had the apple cider pork bbq and kid two had the porkchop special. We could not resist the fried pie for dessert. The service was friendly and attentive and the prices were reasonable. We watched the sun set as we looked over the rolling hills and orchards. My sole regret is that we didn't get to go more than once. We plan to return to the Smokies again and will absolutely go back to Carver's.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank albertsafloat519r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“For a family that loves apples, this is the place to be”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Overall I gave this five stars because everything apple (which is why you would go to an applehouse, right?) is phenomenal. Your meal comes with complimentary apple fritters, a small cup of apple cider, and apple butter. I would have paid for a full meal of these three things alone, and indeed, my husband and I both ordered large apple ciders for our drink of the evening.

The rest of the meal was pretty good. The main meals (fried chicken, chicken pot pie, and chicken & dumplings kids meal) were all delicious and we could tell these items were homemade with skill. The side items (veggie soup, corn, mashed potatoes) seemed like they were out of a can or frozen bag - definitely not fresh or home made. The green beans and pinto beans could have possibly been homemade.

The exception to this was the fried apple side item, which again, was like heaven in a bowl.

We were so full we took home some mini apple pies for dessert, and plan to go back during the week when the applehouse is open earlier in the day to buy some preserves and jams to take home. All in all, it was a large amount of food for probably the most reasonable price we've seen since arriving in Gatlinburg area.

Our waitress was so sweet and friendly - we felt like she was part of the family. And the view of the sun setting behind the mountain, casting down pink sunlight on the apple orchards while the horse graze ... so relaxing and wonderful for our vacation in the Smoky Mountains.

If you love apples, and want a true "family" restaurant - this place can't be beat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kesrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Tenders/Chicken & Dumplings Anywhere!!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the nearby Creekwalk Inn at Whisperwood and needed a place to eat. Saw it on Internet so we stopped. So glad we did. Best apple fritters and cider!! Chicken and Dumplings were fantastic. Chicken Tenders were moist, tasty, and delicious. Fried Apple pie was ok. Little on dry side and needed cinnamon. Loved the market next door. Apple Butter and Relish was SO good. Will return when in area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nommie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carver's Orchard & Applehouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carver's Orchard & Applehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing