We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best sushi around anywhere.”
Review of Sekisui Cordova

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sekisui Cordova
Reserve with OpenTable
Sekisui Cordova is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 146 Restaurants in Cordova
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dexter Road
Description: At Sekisui Cordova, sushi chefs don"t just push the envelope; they put the envelope through the paper shredder. Chefs are encouraged to show off their creativity and listen to customer's ideas, creating sushi rolls that can't be found anywhere else. Also, purists will be delighted with the exhaustive lineup of nigiri sushi - perfectly sliced fish atop a mound of rice seasoned with vinegar, sugar and a touch of sake. The restaurant's fresh fish is flown in several times a week from locations such as Hawaii, Louisiana, and Los Angeles. There's something to please everyone. The extensive menu covers lots of familiar Japanese cuisine territory with teriyaki, tempura and udon noodles. Lively and noisy might not be typical descriptions of most Japanese restaurants, but the words fit Sekisui Cordova. As it is always full of familiar faces, Sekisui is a popular neighborhood hang-out.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
198 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Some of the best sushi around anywhere.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I travel frequently and around the globe but Sekisui ranks with the best sushi I have had anywhere. The service is excellent, the food tastes and looks great, great presentation. The fish is extremely fresh. Each time I am in Memphis I try to make a trip here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duane1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointment- why eat here with so many better options in the area?”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place out to use a buy one get one coupon (which they did not accept anyway) and was completely disappointed. Low quality sushi in an establishment that looks run down and was obviously a fast food joint previously. Will not be going back, but why would you when there is Rain, Thai Bistro, Green Bamboo, and Ishushi all in the same area with much better food, service, and atmosphere?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin_h13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
198 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best sushi outside of Japan!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I travel frequently and I like my sushi. Sekisui has, hands down, the best sushi I have had in the States. It's an amazing find especially located in Memphis of all places. They have an amazing list of specialty rolls and their sashimi is also superb. Love the service too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duane1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, TN
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is in a shopping center with other places to eat. Nice thing about this is you can go in grungy and/or dressed up. All the sushi is so good!

The service is good and you can tell they really care.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellenski25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“that one waitress!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I really like the food here, however, there is a middle aged Asian waitress who is not a good server at all. She is loud, throws the dishes on your table and knocks things over. I have been there at least 6 times and it seems like she waits on me every time. She needs to be retrained. Also, it would be nice if they served all of our food at one time, but they keep bringing out different individuals food at totally different times. We can all eat at the same time!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sekisui Cordova also viewed

 

Been to Sekisui Cordova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing