We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Bistro - CLOSED

Thai Bistro
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Went for lunch and had the Pad Thai lunch special while my husband Pad See Ew Pork lunch special. It was the main entree and an appetizer and soup of the day. I had the vegetable spring rolls which were wonderfully crispy and my husband really liked the fried wontons. But he couldn't finish the Tom Yum soup because it was a little too sour for his tastes. He really liked his main entree but the Pad Thai was a little odd for me. I couldn't taste the peanut sauce and it was a little too sour for me. I would like to go back and try some of the other lunch specials because for all that food plus two sodas the bill was under $25 which is a pretty good value for a sit-down service restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FuzzBear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“My First attempt at Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Not sure if I'm qualified to review since I have nothing to compare it to. The service was good. I told the waitress we were new to Thai food and she did a good job directing us in to some beginner dishes. I didn't want anything spicy but my dish was spicy so my husband and I swapped. We liked what the other one ordered better so it all worked out. Loved the soup and spring rolls. Super fresh.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ridgerebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
347 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great Thai cuisine in Cordova, TN -- who knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Thai Bistro is a real gem. It's located in Cordova, a NE suburb of Memphis, and is somewhat tucked away in one of many strip malls along Germantown Road. It took us a few minutes to find it but we are *really* glad we persevered. The chefs -- we were told that one is from Chiang Mai and the other from Phitsanulok, in Thailand -- really know their stuff. The dishes we had were spiced in ways that ranged from subtle to aggressive--without exception the cooking was flavorful, fresh, and delivered hot. I had satay chicken, Tom Ka soup, and a green curry of chicken and veg; my wife had a red curry and Thai cucumber salad, and we were delighted. Service was friendly and fast; the booths where we sat had very high sidewalls which made for quiet and easy conversation. Prices were quite modest. We were delighted, and hope to return some day --

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New fav place for sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

The sushi is the best here I have had so far in Memphis and the downtown location

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowood, MS
Level Contributor
288 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“DOWNTOWN LOCATION AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Trip Advisor is missing out. There is a down town location for Thai Bistro and its the one I ate at. For some reason TA will not acknowledge its there. It is great food. They were doing a special for 2011 called the $20.11 special. I got an appetizer (curry dumplings), a soup (chicken coconut), a sushi (crunchy shrimp roll) and main course (Cashew Chicken) for only $20.11. It was fantastic. I ate early and was one of the only patrons (it was before 5). I was alone and several of the female staff members sat around and talked to me while I ate. We shared "Mommy moments", etc. I felt like I was hanging out with the girls. I would rate this restaurant as excellent in every aspect. Food was delicious. Location and service was great!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyJx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing