We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Could not connect to the internet in the room had to stand outside. There were ticks, i found 3 dog ticks on me in the morning. the beds were very comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor which was supposed to be no smoking and no animals. so they put an animal in that room or they brought the ticks with them in the sheets. horrible stay will never stay again. there are better hotels for the money in that town.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor. go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Miranda -
I am sorry to hear your stay was not the pleasant experience we strive to give all of our guests. If you would like to speak with us further about this and see if there is something we can do so you will try us again, please call our property Monday - Friday, between 7am and 3pm CDT and ask for the Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 538 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is an old style motel with 2 floors. Friendly check in and out. Musty smell in the room though it was clean. We kept the door open for awhile to help with the odor but it did return pretty quickly once we shut the door. Room with 2 queen beds was spacious. Had microwave, fridge (noisy - we had to unplug it while we slept), coffee pot, a very old style hair dryer, iron and ironing board. TV was a new flat screen. Couldn't hear between rooms but since it is an old style hotel, the outside noise when people arrived was obvious. Good water pressure and good hot water - we did shower early since we needed to be on our way. Adequate towels and pillows. Not bad for around $70 with taxes but may pick a different hotel next time we are in this town. Loved the food at International Grocery and Deli and at Ralph's Donuts - see my reviews of those in Cookeville for more information.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxFamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Thunderbird motel while you were in Cookeville, and for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed the room's amenities, and the local food! We would love for you to stay with us whenever you return to Cookeville, please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Was very clean and well appointed. Comphy bed and pillows. Can't beat the price! We were here for a wedding. Also enjoyed exploring the nice town. There was a lot more to see and do than we thought. Don't miss seeing Cummimg Falls if you have time!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank aleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review here on tripadvisor. I am glad you were able to have a good stay here at the Best Western Thunderbird Motel, and had a fun time in town.

If you get a chance to stay with us again, you must check out some of our great local restaurants too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Exceptional value and fabulous service! Would recommend to everyone! Staff is friendly and helpful and housekeeping was very efficient yet not intrusive. The pool was not open yet, but the weather was not helping either. The grounds were well maintained and nicely landscaped. We had a microwave and refrigerator in our room and both performed to expectations.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Kathy,
I am glad you had a great time here! Our pool is now open so I do hope you come back soon to enjoy the water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

great staff, clean rooms, Mexican restaurant across from check in, nice pool, no elevator, free ice, average hotel breakfast, close to most of everything in the area, plenty of parking, good internet speed downstairs, not so much upstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear John,
Thank you for writing a review here on tripadvisor. I am glad you had a good stay and was able to enjoy El Tapatio.
We are looking into the wifi issue on the second floor. We want everyone in every room to have a good signal and fast connection.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We arrived on a Friday afternoon with a planned departure on Monday. However I had only reserved a room for Sat. & Sun. night so the Friday arrival was unexpected by the staff. The hotel was quite busy with guests in town for the local college graduation exercise and the number of bookings were growing rapidly. The clerk found a room for us for Fri. evening but it was an upgrade from my original reservation and was told that we would need to change rooms on Sat. morning to the type room originally reserved. That presented a problem because of an appointment I had made so I asked if the upgraded room we had been given would be available for the full three nights. The clerk checked and said it would be but at the higher rate and then said she could adjust the rate some because of our length of stay. That rate was more than fair and we enjoyed our stay. The room was quite comfortable, clean and well appointed with mini fridge, microwave, sofa, desk with WiFi connections and Tvs in both rooms. An outstanding value and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Robert -
Thank you for writing this wonderful review! We are glad we were able to get you into the upgraded room for the entire stay so you didn't have to move - and that you enjoyed the amenities our suites have to offer. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for a bachelorette party... the room was very spacious and super clean. It had double sinks which was great for getting ready. Really close to Walmart and most restaurants. The staff was very welcoming upon check-in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Kate - Thanks for leaving us a review - hope the party was fun! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Thunderbird Motel

Address: 900 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-0953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
#4 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#5 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range: $86 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Thunderbird Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing