We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good overall hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

great staff, clean rooms, Mexican restaurant across from check in, nice pool, no elevator, free ice, average hotel breakfast, close to most of everything in the area, plenty of parking, good internet speed downstairs, not so much upstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear John,
Thank you for writing a review here on tripadvisor. I am glad you had a good stay and was able to enjoy El Tapatio.
We are looking into the wifi issue on the second floor. We want everyone in every room to have a good signal and fast connection.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 538 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We arrived on a Friday afternoon with a planned departure on Monday. However I had only reserved a room for Sat. & Sun. night so the Friday arrival was unexpected by the staff. The hotel was quite busy with guests in town for the local college graduation exercise and the number of bookings were growing rapidly. The clerk found a room for us for Fri. evening but it was an upgrade from my original reservation and was told that we would need to change rooms on Sat. morning to the type room originally reserved. That presented a problem because of an appointment I had made so I asked if the upgraded room we had been given would be available for the full three nights. The clerk checked and said it would be but at the higher rate and then said she could adjust the rate some because of our length of stay. That rate was more than fair and we enjoyed our stay. The room was quite comfortable, clean and well appointed with mini fridge, microwave, sofa, desk with WiFi connections and Tvs in both rooms. An outstanding value and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Robert -
Thank you for writing this wonderful review! We are glad we were able to get you into the upgraded room for the entire stay so you didn't have to move - and that you enjoyed the amenities our suites have to offer. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for a bachelorette party... the room was very spacious and super clean. It had double sinks which was great for getting ready. Really close to Walmart and most restaurants. The staff was very welcoming upon check-in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Kate - Thanks for leaving us a review - hope the party was fun! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The location was Great. Easy to find and located near all the places that I needed to go to for my visit. Dining and shopping were all within an easy drive. Having the interstate just a couple of blocks away was great. The Front Desk staff were so friendly and interacted with guest. The breakfast choices were also a very nice selection. I will surely be staying at this Hotel again on a return visit.

Room Tip: The room was wonderful. I really liked the fact that not only was there a coffee maker but also a mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Jeanie - Glad you enjoyed the convenient location of our motel, our friendly staff, and our breakfast! We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This has been a good stop off point for me several times on trips. I always make sure to book a room at Thunderbird. It gives me what I am looking for in a motel: clean room, comfortable bed, friendly and helpful staff. This is my motel of choice anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lamar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thanks Lamar - always nice to hear from a regular! Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at this motel while in the Cookeville area. The room was old and shabby, the bathroom had old green tiles on the walls. The bed was very uncomfortable and the carpet was disgusting. The noise in the area was horrible with cars and motorcycles gunning their engines at all hours. We were given a room next to the office and we heard people talking outside our room all night long. The breakfast was terrible. We had booked 2 nights but checked out in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

We apologize that your stay did not reflect the level of comfort and excellence that we strive to give all of our guests. We would like to address some of your concerns about our property. Our pillowtop mattresses are only a few years old, so we are sorry you did not enjoy them - most of our guests love them! Because our hotel does have outside entrances, noise from the parking lot can be heard at times, and we apologize for that inconvenience. If you did not inform the desk clerk on duty of the parking lot noise or the people talking outside your room, please do not hesitate to do so next time, so they can resolve the issue for you. We would like a chance to make this situation right if you would give us another chance. Please call our property between 7am and 3pm Monday - Friday and ask for the Assistant Manager so we can further discuss this. Thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

As a business traveler I just discovered these BW properties. They have done a great job renovating these old hotels! I love the external entrances so I don't have haul my stuff so far. The king beds are comfortable. Rates are reasonable. Why pay twice as much for a pretty building? Breakfast is as good or better than the premium properties. All so far have nice new 40 in flat screen TVs. Rooms nicely decorated too. BW has yet to disappoint me.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Dennis4742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for leaving a review on our motel - we hope to see you again the next time you are traveling in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Thunderbird Motel

Address: 900 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-0953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
#5 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range: $86 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Thunderbird Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing