We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable and affordable”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at the Thunderbird Motel for 5 days over the Memorial Day Weekend of this year. Front desk staff was very friendly and very accomodating. Upon check-in and gaining access to our room we discovered that our electric key cards wouldn't open the door. Front desk informed me that maintenance and repairs had been performed on the lock mechanism earlier that day. The young woman working the desk that day simply gave us another room ... Upgraded to a suite!

Cleaning crew was very thorough, the hotel is located (conjoined) with a good Mexican restaurant that has a liquor license (Always a plus:) and is very accessible from from I-40. For the money, I haven't found a better hotel in Cookeville yet and Ive been making this journey annually for 30 years!

Room Tip: We weren't in the room enough to say which particular rooms were better than others, but if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    192
    57
    21
    13
See reviews for
215
127
44
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel was clean. The beds were comfortable. Our room was off of the street, so it was quite. Good breakfast in the morning with hard boiled eggs. Located by gas stations and restaurants. The internet worked good as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay. I was a little unsure as I had seen the outside a few times before. It is an older property but very well kept up. The rooms were clean and quiet. I felt safe in my room. The staff were friendly and helpful. I am planning on staying here again when I am in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I am a 12-year-old dog. I'm comfortable sleeping most places, but getting to our 2nd-floor room was nothing short of a nightmare. YOU COULD SEE THROUGH THE STAIRS! The elevator? Equally terrifying. I was humiliated when Brad carried my 70 pounds of awesomeness down the stairs in front of EVERYONE. Aside from that, my people seemed well-rested and happy with the room. Cleanliness is more important to them. Whatever. I'll stay here again, but only on the 1st floor. (Could've used a waffle from the breakfast bar, Brad).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mynameisjerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was a Priceline "Express" deal, so before we booked, we had no way to know that this motel was a "motor lodge" the type where the room doors open directly outside. Due to past unpleasant experiences with this type of motel, I was upset when I learned we got this room. It turned out to be great. All other lodging in this area were significantly more expensive, so I was very wary of this motel. But the Best Western Thunderbird was very clean, our room was perfectly outiftted, it had no bad odors/smells. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable. Everything looked up to date and everything was really clean. Their outdoor pool had just been opened for the season and it was very clean and had plenty of furniture. We had to ask for towels at the pool, but the woman at the front desk helped us get them from a nearby supply closet. The breakfast was not the most impressive, but it had the basics to fuel you for the start of your day, and my attitude is a free breakfast is a free breakfast!

Room Tip: Highly recommend a very good Mexican restaurant right next to the motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped here for the night and was very satisfied with room for this location. We pass through this area often when traveling and this is a great town for a room and good meal at Crawdaddy's. Our room was clean and the place is in very good condition but it is an older place. Breakfast was good the next morning. If you are looking for a clean place for the night and a good price, I would suggest this Best Western. There are fancier places but they are more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Slightly old but in very good condition, would reccomend to anyone, room very clean, if you thought otherwise please stay somewhere else so I can be assured to get a room, next time I am in town.pet friendly, good cust.ser.pool clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggp2397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Cookeville
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Thunderbird Motel

Property: Best Western Thunderbird Motel
Address: 900 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-0953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
#4 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#5 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Thunderbird Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing