We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“stop over for business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“stop over for business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wanted time to travel off the turnpike on route to conference. Convenient and affordable. Walking distance to restaurants. Near-by mall so-so. Clean and quiet. Check-in host returned from sick time. more than we needed to know

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    170
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
182
111
34
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this motel. The room was large, comfortable and most of clean. The mattress was a pillowtop but was actually too soft for my back but everything else about this place was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sassysas1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal City, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at this location about twice a year, two times each traveling East and about a week later West going back home, for several years. Usually in August and Dec./Jan. I have stayed here because the rates are good (my AARP discount helps), I get a good nights sleep, the rooms are clean, and its a short distance off of I40.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JAMES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This Best Western is just a few feet off I-40 and is easy to find. The front desk and staff were very gracious and took the time to greet us and make us feel welcome. The room was very clean and held all the amenities that were advertised. No tears in the carpet or askew drapery. The lamps all worked and the lighting was bright so we could read the newspaper easily. The internet connected quickly and the outlet was placed in a convenient spot at the desk so I did not have to crawl along the floor to find one. And there was enough room to move about without bumping into one another and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely recommend this Best Western.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor and the outside corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose this Best Western because of their pet policy as we were traveling from LA to NY with a dog. The other Best Westerns on our trip were less tired looking, even slightly luxurious. There were many hotel/motel chains we could see nearby so it was not a matter of no other choices. That said, the room was clean and provided what we needed including a breakfast buffet very similar to what we enjoyed at the other Best Westerns on our trip. The room also had free wifi but was just a bit more 'tired' than we had come to expect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronacom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Thunderbird Best Western in October 2012 and enjoyed our stay. The front desk young lady, Millie, was so very helpful to us as we visited and toured the area. Thank you so very much! Hope to return someday!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having an upstairs hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I travel quite a bit, and this is without a doubt the cleanest place I have ever stayed! There was no perfume trying to cover up anything. It was just spotless, even down deep! And the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the Thunderbird Best Western in Cookeville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#1 of 17 in Cookeville
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
2.8 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Suites
Alpine Lodge & Suites
#9 of 17 in Cookeville
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
Address: 900 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-0953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cookeville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cookeville
#4 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#5 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing