We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great buffet; dirty room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great buffet; dirty room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The breakfast buffet was one of the best that I've ever encountered. Food was well prepared and maintained during breakfast hours right to the end of the serving time. A large selection with some variance from day to day. Excellent coffee that a huge group of drivers in training were raving about at the next table.

However, stray hairs on pillow not either of our length or color, hair in tub. Carpet was not vacuumed during our three day stay. Room was cramped with new furniture not designed for the ancient room. Window treatments were only sheers. Room could be clearly seen from parking lot and vice versa. We were on display. Plugs did not work by the bedside so no alarm clock or ability to charge phone on bedside table.

The first day of our stay our keycards were cancelled while we were out for the day, requiring us to walk to the lobby for new ones. Clerk claimed that it was from contact with credit cards although mine was never in contact with any of my cards, kept in a thick separate pocket apart from cards for that reason. Staff was pleasant but tentative and confused. The breakfast attendant for the first two days never spoke to me or even made eye contact.

I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMcDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I thank you for you review it is appreciated and I apoligize for any inconvenience you experienced. I have addressed the housekeeping issues you mentioned. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    26
    34
    50
See reviews for
76
34
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Rooms were newly refurbished and wonderful. Breakfast buffet was terrific with hot items including scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, waffles and more.

Great atrium with indoor/outdoor pool and Half-Time sports bar was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We (my staff and I) thank you for your review, come and see us again soon, and remember the World Karaoke Championship competition starts Thursday, February 28th 2013 and continues for 10 consecutive Thursdays, great prizes to be won including a chance to represent the USA in Finland. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

From morning to night service was excellent!!! Rooms are spacious and comfortable!! I'm looking forward to revisiting in the very near future!!!!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!! The Half Time Bar offers a great happy hour!!!!

Room Tip: Outstanding staff!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Gregg, my staff and I thank you for your review, we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon.The Clarion Inn in Cookeville is now your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Brandy was GREAT on the phone the day before check in and at check in. She was more patient and accommodating than others. Halftime Bar had Chastity (aka Sarah) & Melissa who were both GREAT and Ms. Peaches Wings UUUUMMMMM Good. I am not a bar person but I went 3 nights in a row. I will stay again for my next trip to Cookeville. Even with a few glitches in first room, I was moved and very happy with my stay.Cleaning staff were great as well.

Room Tip: room 139 tub does not drain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWhite07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. My staff and I strive to make your stay with us pleasurable. We are appreciative that you took the time to write this review. Brandy,Chasity, Melissa, Ms.Peaches and the housekeeping staff are beaming with pride for your recognition. Thank you. We welcome all visitors to our Hotel and remember World Karaoke Championships start Feb 21. 2013 at the Half Time Sports Bar....Ms. peaches will be there to make those mouth watering "wings" See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wow!! The stay was great... But what truly got me was the people that worked there treated me like they've been knowing me all my life, and i think i stayed more in the lobby and the sports bar and restaurant than i didnt in my room. GM is a very great guy OMG u have to try Ms Peach's wings. She's the cook, and also the breakfast is like a home cooked meal. It was like 28 degrees outside, but i enjoyed myself in the indoor pool.. EVERYONE WHO READS THIS U HAVE TO TRY THEM!!! Can wait to see my New Family again... Gerald

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrezJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, bring the gang our Karaoke contest starts this month and it is the biggest ever, we are part of the World Karaoke Championships with the Grand Finals in FINLAND.
My staff and I look forward to serving you once again and Ms.Peaches is always ready and willing to express that Southern Hospitality and cooking. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

honestly, this was one of the best vacations we had in 14 years! Service was awesome, Rooms are great, pool is so wonderful. My kids, 7 and 13 did NOT want to leave!! Free Wifi, free awesome breakfast buffet. Breakfast was sooooo big. We ate, seriously over one hour breakfast. Coffee, Chocolate milk, tea, waffles, eggs, sausage, yoghurt, fruits, oatmeal, muffins, cereals, toast, and sooo much more to eat! We will definetly be back soon! Thank you so much. Melissa H. from Memphis, TN

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I thank you for you honest comments, they represent what my sfaff and I strive to accomplish.We are happy that you enjoyed you stay and of course breafkast...noting like a Clarion's hot breakfast to start your day. We hope to see you return soo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at this facility several times and find them to be very cooperative. Brandy in particular made our stay more enjoyable. She is charming and efficient, remembered us from a previous stay, and fixed a minor problem promptly and gracefully. Tiara also was very pleasant and helpful. We most definitely will stay there when our travels take us to the Cookeville area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraem S, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
My staff and I thank you for your business and comments. We strive to insure that our guest are satisfied with their stay and to make suggestions and recommendations for any improvements that they would like to see so that when at our facility the know that their money is well spent and that they are appreciated. Thanks again for you business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 970 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-4018 (Formerly Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Cookeville
Cookeville Clarion
Clarion Cookeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing