We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really decent for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Memphis, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really decent for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Friday, July 26 on our way across the state. The hotel is older but clean. It has a large cable selection and free WiFi. Some rooms are interior and others are park and enter your room directly from the parking lot. We've stayed in both and have been happy in each style room. My daughter enjoyed the pool with the indoor/outdoor swim through and spiral slide. Pool towels are provided so you don't have to use your room towels to go to the pool.

The breakfast is not complimentary but $4.99 for an "all you care to eat" breakfast featuring scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, and waffles as well as the common dry cereal and danish breakfast was reasonable. The food was a bit slow at coming out but there were a lot of people there and we weren't paying $10 or more for a breakfast. It was still faster and more reasonable than having to drive down the street to a Cracker Barrel and having to wait.

LaShawn who ran the breakfast service was working single handed. She was bringing out food, clearing tables, replenishing the condiments, plates, flatware, jelly, butter, etc. in addition to running the cash register. I watched her as she worked, constantly pleasant and helpful. She was doing all it was humanly possible for one person to do and her upbeat personality never cracked under the pressure of everyone going to her "wanting this and wanting that". She was so gracious we thought maybe she was the owner of a contracted food service. We asked and it turns out she is just an hourly employee. She was great and needs to be considered for a higher level customer service position.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyHawkeMemphis_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    27
    35
    50
See reviews for
77
35
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Lake, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived here without a reservation after a very long, hot day of motorcycle riding. Cody was quick to get us settled in a very nice and comfortable poolside room with an extremely comfortable pillow-top bed and lots of extra pillows. The price was surprisingly affordable and there were plenty of eating and drinking establishments to choose from within walking distance of the hotel. We enjoyed the pool and hot-tub and met some local people who were there just to relax and let their kids swim and enjoy the indoor slide. Everyone was pleasant and willing to share information on their favorite recreational areas nearby for us to explore the following day. We were impressed by the inexpensive breakfast buffet in the morning, and Kim was very helpful and pleasant to everyone she encountered. I even witnessed her showing a patron how to use the waffle maker and offering to turn and remove its contents while the busy mother assisted her children with the buffet. Who could ask for anything more?!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Fantastic pool! Includes a hot tub, slide and both indoor and outdoor pool. Staff all very friendly, especially waitress that helped my son make his waffle at breakfast. Clean, quiet, comfortable beds. Bonus points because the room actually gets cold at night with the air on high.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needavacayMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is an older hotel. It is an older Holiday Inn, but the rooms are very clean and it has been slightly updated. You can get it at a very good price, usually in the $55-$65 range if you book through Choice Hotels and use the discount code for either the National Rifle Association or State Farm Insurance. I believe it's 20% off the rack rate. The hotel bar and grill serve excellent food. However, breakfast will cost you about $5.00; they do not provide a free breakfast.

Room Tip: Less noise if you stay in the Executive Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigWill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Executive wing rooms are much nicer than the older party of the hotel. Management is always friendly and helpful. Great location right off interstate. The price is right.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The complimentary breakfast was impressive and Kim's breakfast staff was friendly and attentive, but that's the only positive aspect of our stay. The main level of the facility where breakfast is served is not accessible from the rooms without going outside and through the parking lot. The outdoor ramps are too steep and the handicap room they put us in was crowded with furniture; the tub was impossible for a wheelchair bound person to access and the elevator next door to the room was noisy all night. The bed was too high and the maintenance staff would not consider removing the bed frame to ease the problem. Anyone in a wheelchair should definitely find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cookeville hotels

Pulaski, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rooms were really nice and the breakfast each morning was great as well. Everyone was really nice and helped in any way they could. The boys had a great time in the pool and playing the video games.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 18 in Cookeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 970 S Jefferson Ave, Cookeville, TN 38501-4018 (Formerly Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Cookeville
Cookeville Clarion
Clarion Cookeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing