We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review”

The Gondola Pizza House
Ranked #41 of 171 Restaurants in Cookeville
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Family-owned pizza, pasta and more...also referred to as The Original Gondola at Cookeville....on Facebook as The Gondola Pizza House...some of the best pizza I have had and very friendly owner.
Restaurant details
Description: Family-owned pizza, pasta and more...also referred to as The Original Gondola at Cookeville....on Facebook as The Gondola Pizza House...some of the best pizza I have had and very friendly owner.
Jackson, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
“Honest review”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

At suggestion of a new waitress, tried the lunch pizza and salad. Salad wilted, blue cheese dressing sweet, and the pizza reminded me of Tony's frozen. Not at all worth the $9.00 charge. Very disappointed. Only ate half of the pizza and left the rest. I always wanted this to be a good place, having seen it on many many times coming through Cookeville. Seriously Pizza Hut blows them away hands down. Sorry for this review, but it is honest. Don't pass up Demo's in Lebanon to come here, if you are going east on I40.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mediocre food”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is just an average restaurant. They used to have a very extensive menu and reasonable prices. It was always quite crowded when we went there which means it is quite popular with the local crowd. Haven't been there for a couple years.

Helpful?
Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Italian Slophouse”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

One restaurant you want to avoid in Cookeville is this place. I first went there in 2008 when I was on a business trip here in Cookeville. We went there largely because it was next to the hotel and as soon as I walked inside I knew it was going to be substandard. Think of an old Shoneys and you are at the Gondola. The restaurant itself is in a bit of disrepair, booths sink and the silverware us USED, well USED. Food was OK but I did get a bit concerned about the food quality when I asked for the Veal the waitress said they don't sell that much of it and it is old. Okay....hum why would she volunteer they keep food too long??? The bottom line for me is you could not pay me to eat there. Its just a slophouse and people who do not know better just think its good or OK but you can be sure you will be disappointed if you try it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Topdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty good Pizza for the wilds of Tennesee”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Gondola Pizza, service was very nice the young lady was very attentive, the pizza was OK but the bottom crust was a bit too thick for my liking but it was crisp which makes up for a lot. All in all a pleasant experience in a charming place across the street from our hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterswc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
165 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Italian name , Greek goodness!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to Gondola, as the pizza had been highly recommended by friends. However, after seeing the Greek dishes on the menu, we went in that direction. My husband had the Gyro and liked it. I had pita appetizer with olive oil, garlic, feta and mozzarella as my lunch. It was like a cheesy Greek pizza, so good! We both had the homemade baklava for dessert, wow! We've been to Greece and this was one of the best we've eaten! They also offer spanacopeta, Greek salads, saginaki, etc. The Italian menu was extensive, prices good and service attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gondola Pizza House also viewed

 
Cookeville, TN
 

Been to The Gondola Pizza House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing