We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Liked It!”
Review of Rib City - MOVED

Rib City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I Liked It!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

OK. So it's not Tony Roma's or Franklin's Bar-B-Q. It IS a nice, reasonably priced Barbeque and Rib place with tasty fare. I tried the lunch portion riblets anf found them to be excellent. Good smokey flavor and fall-off-the-bone tender. Good selection of sauces to please most pallets.
My waitress was great and very helpful in guiding my selection.
A bit far from the interstate to stop by every trip through, but I will re-visit when time allows.

Helpful?
Thank Bartemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Griffin, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I'll start by saying that I was greeted by a very friendly hostess, and that my waitress was terrific. Never ran out of beer, and constantly checking to make sure things were good, but not so much to be annoying. I sat in the bar area, so the waitress was also the bar-tender. She did an excellent job of not forgetting me at the table, while tending to the guys at the bar. I ordered the ribs with baked beans and fries. The ribs were tender enough, and cooked well, but the smoke flavor was odd. Tasted simply like charcoal, with no wood. The beans had an odd flavor, but they were good. The fries were fries, hard to screw them up. Overall, a fair meal, with excellent service. I would go back, but to try something different.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the955iman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
222 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Deour from the Interstate”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were travelling through and decided to try the BBQ in Cookeville. I had the sliced pork which was good. The baked beans were different and I did not care for them. My wife had the chicken sandwich which is simply a deep fried breaded chicken breast on a bun with some additions. I do not consider this a BBQ chicken sandwich. You can douse it with good BBQ sauce if you want. Simply, a pretty ordinary BBQ place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of our new favs!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Having recently moved to Cookeville, we stopped and had lunch at Rib City. The baby back ribs were incredible, their "smoked" wings were awesome and our waitress was worth her weight in gold. We don't eat out very often (a couple of times a month) because we are pretty jaded about restaurants. Rib City meet all our criteria for a "favorite eats" rating- good food, comfortable setting (casual but nice) and excellent service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Baby backs”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Always a dependable Friday afternoon rib special. baby back, beans cole slaw and lots of hot sauce to take it over the top.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing