We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fajita beef I have ever found”

El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 171 Restaurants in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best fajita beef I have ever found”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

They have the best fajita beef I have ever found. I recommend their beef fajitas or beef taco salad. Both items are simply splendid.

I like quality beef and they serve it up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wrestlingfanfromtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    60
    33
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
145 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Chips and salsa right after you sit down. You can't beat the prices for dinner here and the food is tasty. Service if fast and friendly. Seriously for a decent meal, you can't beat El Tapatio's prices!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Standard Mexican-American blah”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Typical mexican fare, microwaved plates, chicken, beef or pork, hard or soft, flour or corn tortillas, beans and rice. If you have to have Mexican in Cookeville and want it cheap, this is an OK place, but there are better fajitas at Chili's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TampaTampa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Everyone raves about El Tapatio, but I am less than impressed. I found the food to be quite bland. If you like very mild Mexican food then you will probably like them. The cheese dip is also kinda thin and watered down tasting.

Helpful?
Thank KariB310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Went to the Willow location. Felt like I was cheating.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to the 2nd Cookeville location with some friends who go here rather than the Jefferson Ave. flagship locale. Same basics - free salsa and chips - salsa verde on request. Also have Salsa ranchero available - chunked avacado that goes well with anything.
We order the same thing whenever we go to El Tap - fajitas jalisco for two. Chicken, beef, and shrimp along with veggies and a set-up plate with rice, beans, sour cream, and quac. Very yum and too much to eat in one sitting. Leftovers are mixed with eggs and cheese to make a decadent breakfast treat. We usually get three meals out of one. Very cost friendly. Oh, and they had a live band as well. Not the best, but a nice touch.
Worth the trip if you are in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing