We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant

El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 167 Restaurants in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cookeville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the place for Mexican food in Cookeville. Food is consistently delicious, service is always great. Must try!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    59
    32
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Lousy Homogenized Mexican Food. Avoid.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place sucked. Only the chips and red/green salsa were good.

I ordered the #8 with beef taco, burrito and enchilada. It had little taste, no flair and made with cheap ingrediants. Others at my table had dishes of similar ilk. Zero flair, light on cheeses, heavy on beans and rice. The place was packed too...I just don't get it.

Apparently in Tennessee the burritos and enchiladas do not come with cheese, lettuce or sour cream. All I got was a cheap flour tortilla wrapped around finely textured hamburger and a dime sized plop of red salsa on each. The taco was like bad Taco Bell, same hamburger as above except for 7 tiny shaved morsels of a tasteless white cheese. Oh yeah, no lettuce on the taco either. I can't believe they would serve such plain-Jane dishes.

So far in 2013, this is the worst restaurant I have dined in. Run for the border fast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BigCityChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fastest Place in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everythign here is AMAZING but you gotta get the cheese dip! The fajitas are out of this world! You will love watching the employees run around with as many plates as their arms can carry! It's not very expensive and you will be super glad you went!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcieack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mexican food in Cookville”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place was recommended by the hotel we stayed at. Service was great, but our meals were kinda bland. Not much seasoning or taste. Price was okay. Wish we would have went someplace else, but was right by the hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Fast and friendly service. Good food in huge servings. Delicious and strong fishbowl margaritas! One of my and hubby's favorite places to eat.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisafbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing