We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of Sweet Sallie's Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Sweet Sallie's Bakery & Cafe
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We are a bakery and cafe/coffee shop. we serve breakfast and lunch, and serve a large variety of sweet treats. We also do specialty cakes, pies, decorated sugar cookies, cupcakes.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a cafe au lait. Excellent. Carrot raisin muffin also good and bought a drew's brews cupcake to go. Fantastic. In the historic west side of Cookeville, very relaxed place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank linseyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not feeling it”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stopped in to work on my laptop for a few minutes. The atmosphere was fine, nothing special. Old college dorm/cafeteria feel to the place. The furniture was confortable, couches, chairs, and tables. There was some bad "Indie" music in the background, but not loud enough to be much of a distraction. I cannot comment on the drinks because I had a bottle of water. The cupcakes were terrible. I had a double chocolate ganache and a strawberry. I dare say a place on "Cupcake wars" is not going to be a reality. The strawberry was a very dry white/yellow cake with what tasted of a slightly whipped cream cut artificially flavored icing. The chocolate ganache was at least a chocolate cake. Unfortunately, the ganache amounted to a small amount of icing in the cake and a melted and drizzled icing. These cupcakes tasted as if they were from a box and a can. I believe these were $2.50-$3.00 each.

If you go here, skip the cupcakes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrEECS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Such creativity!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Don't go here unless you are ready for some delectable cup cakes and great coffee! Amazing selection of really imaginative recipes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Awesome cupcakes, coffee, and atmosphere. A great place to study. I was very partial to the French press option and the prices aren't bad either. Will definitely return!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyler E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Coffee/Pastries”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Coffee was fresh brewed and exellent. Good variety of pastries. Atmosphere was good. WIFI available. Service went beyond the norm. Will definitely return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank plindap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Sallie's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing