We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supreme Food”
Review of CHAR Steakhouse

CHAR Steakhouse
Ranked #17 of 175 Restaurants in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: CH Steak Lounge is a newly rebranded, locally owned and operated Steakhouse on the square in downtown Cookeville, TN. Boasting the best steaks in the region as well as the best all around dining experience in town, CHAR has quickly become THE local hot spot for great food, cold drinks, and the best live music in town.
Livingston, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Supreme Food”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had the rack of lamb and it was cooked to perfection! I also loved to atmosphere. The service was also good. I highly recommend Char for a nice casual dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KariB310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    29
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Must have went on a bad day”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We walked in and the stench of stale beer smacks you in the face, it reminded me of night club and a not a restaurant. We opted to eat on the patio and we had to ask the server to wipe down the table and chairs. I ordered the prime rib sandwich and requested it to be cooked medium rare. The server stated it was a bad day for prime rib and I would have to settle for medium, that should have been my sign! It's more like a cheesesteak but without cheez-whiz. Will not go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bon Aqua, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I came here as part of our 32nd Wedding Anniversary celebration & we were not disappointed. New York Strip was probably the best we ever had! Side dishes (vegetables & appetizers) were fantastic. Service (Ann) was great! Atmosphere was wonderful. Tiffany, the manager was really nice. We will make it a point to come here again when near Cookeville. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clint D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are here for the first time yesterday and it was wonderful. I cannot say enough good things. The filet was one of the best I have ever had and was cooked perfectly and the service was very good. We will be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDavis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went last on Valentine Day in February. The atmosphere is dark and romantic, the service was quick and always ahead of any needs we had and the food (Filet and Lobster Tail) was as good as any I have had in Cookeville. I highly recommend this for everyday eating or that special occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gs_and_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CHAR Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to CHAR Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing