We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting worse to gross.”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We have stayed here on and off over the years, and it did not used to be bad. This visit, I hope, is our last. Although the Wednesday night check-in girl was super helpful and sweet, the attendant at the desk for the rest our stay had a very sour attitude...pretty much to everyone. She did not like working there and resented it everytime she had to replenish pool towels for the numerous guests.

That was not the worst of things, though. Our first room--which lasted less than five minutes--had old food in the refrigerator and (ahem) a mess in the toilet. So, clearly, the cleaning was inadequate. We were immediately moved to another room on another floor, but our lack of confidence in the cleaning staff was already established. (The girl at the desk told us there had been difficulties with the cleaning and they had just had a meeting that morning.)

Breakfast was ick. We did not even eat there after the first morning because the second morning was obviously leftovers. All bland, white, gross food.

It has been a long time since I have stayed in a hotel that has such poor standards.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 207 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stay here everytime we go through the area. Great value compared to the Comfort Inn & Hampton in the same parking lot. Beds are always great and while the bathrooms aren't updated, not horrible either. Newer flat screen TV's and digital are nice after traveling.
This last visit makes me re-think of staying again. Young girl at front desk (thank you for removing your face piercings since last time) when asked if we could have a room on the back side of hotel informed us that the wireless was out on that side. Told her that was fine as we would not need. Instead, we were given a room on the side which has a parking lot next to along with trash dumpsters which of course were used the next morning. The keys were already done and I don't think she wanted to change things in the system. We try to get the back side of the building because it is the darkest during the night along with early morning.
We stayed 2 nights and the first morning noticed that we did not have a newspaper while every other room in the area that was occupied did. I did not say anything and got one in the breakfast area. The second morning it was not there, it happened again so I asked the front desk. She said that papers were normally put out for Choice Priviledges Members. She didn't have anything to say when I told her that we stay 140-150 nights at Choice and were Diamond or Platinum or whatever the highest level was.
Just seems that the customer service has gone down along with attention to detail.

Seems like petty issues but when you travel as much and expect certain things, espescially from a Comfort Suites, it hits a bit hard.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozarksbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We stayed at the Comfort Suites in Cookeville for one night while visiting Tennessee. It was late when we checked in and we got a 2 room suite for a great price.

The room was spacious, it had a microwave and refrigerator. It was clean, the bed was comfortable. The hot breakfast in the morning was a plus. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mygrls03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We don't usually stay at Comfort Suites, but it had an indoor pool, which is what I wanted for my 4 kids. They really like to swim. We were not impressed with this hotel. On the good side, the beds were nice, the room was clean, and the staff was friendly. The negatives: the bathtub needed replaced and the water in the shower was luke warm, the indoor pool was cold so we couldn't swim (try explaining that to a 2 year old), the continental breakfast was about the worst one ever. There was very little to choose from and the breakfast area was really small. Would not recommend this hotel, will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qlbcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Arrived late (about 11 p.m.), hungry and tired. The night clerk was very friendly and also provided suggestions for late-night eats. Hotel was quiet; no loud guests or outside noises. Room was very clean and inviting. Continental breakfast was nice, but area was crowded. Only complaints are that the sleeper sofa was terrible to sleep on... but are there any that aren't? Also, the only elevator had broken down sometime during the night, forcing us to carry a ton of luggage down the back stairs... But on the bright side, at least we weren't IN the elevator when it gave up the ghost!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Buzzydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Stayed 2 nights oct. 20-22nd..nice room..great beds, they were new, and very comfortable. Hotel staff very helpful..great cookies..
Movie theatre two blocks away. Overall a nice experience..
Great rate from the hotel website...

Stayed: October 2008
Thank rbepor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Great room - upgraded to whirlpool suite and well worth it. The bed is one of the best that we have slept on - firm and comfortable! Very quiet room. Breakfast has been better at past stays but still better than most. Indoor pool and hottub and great staff that is always welcoming and pleasant!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ozarksbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#2 of 19 in Cookeville
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cookeville
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1035 Interstate Drive, Cookeville, TN 38501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cookeville
#7 Family Hotel in Cookeville
Price Range: $87 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites hotel in Cookeville offers all the essentials you need to stay on your game and be your best. We're conveniently located near Tennessee Tech University (TTU). You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our all-suites hotel in Cookeville like: Cumberland Caverns, Center Hill Lake, MedVance Institute, Southern Hill Golf Course, and Cookeville Regional Medical Center. We cater to both vacationing tourists and business travelers alike with complimentary services and amenities such as copy, print and fax machines, plus a computer with Internet. Additional amenities include: Indoor pool, Exercise room, Guest laundry facilities, Free coffee, and Sauna. Get going with a great breakfast. Start your morning in Cookeville with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Our 100% smoke-free guest rooms feature coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, microwaves, refrigerators and work areas, along with premium bedding and more. Keep your electronic devices charged with a recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. Behind every great stay is a great night at the Comfort Suites. This Cookeville hotel offers more of the space you need to spread out, relax and work, 25% more space more space as a matter of fact. Get rested, set, go—book a room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cookeville
Comfort Suites Cookeville
Cookeville Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing