We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice in Columbia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good choice in Columbia”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a nice property with the usual Hampton amenities - free hot/cold breakfast, small fitness room, upscale decor, coffee in the lobby, afternoon cookies. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, so I slept very well. The website says the common areas were going to be having renovation starting in September 2011, but there was no evidence of that now (there is some peeling wallpaper by the front door, which needs repair, but that was it). Despite being on Interstate 65, the hotel is very quiet.

This was a business trip, and the company I was traveling to suggested the Jamison. However, even though their rates were lower, the reviews were not favorable. When I made my reservation, I mentioned this to the manager, saying that I would really prefer the Hampton, and she kindly discounted my rate 10%. The hotel is a bit of a drive from the center of Columbia, but totally worth it for the comfort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeronprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    86
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
135
112
21
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have found interstate hotels to be a mixed bag. However, the Hampton Inn Columbia is one of the best. The hotel is far enough off of the interstate that noise from it is barely noticeable. Service is exemplary and the hotel is very clean. Of particular note is their breakfast, much better than usual for interstate hotels. One negative is the outdoor pool but that is common for southern states.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We selected this property because it is near family in Chapel Hill. It is right off I-65, near a Waffle House and a couple of gas stations. Due to freeway construction near Franklin, the 42 mile drive from Nashville airport (BNA) took about 1 hour.

The night clerk was pleasant during check-in. We got a room on the west side of the hotel away from the freeway as requested. There is one guest elevator and it is a little rough starting and stopping. At 9 pm, the coffee in the lobby was lukewarm, but a quick re-heat in the in-room microwave remedied that.

During the dates of our stay (12/9/11 - 12/11/11) the property was undergoing rennovation. The wallpaper in the lobby appeard to be flood damaged, and there was a large construction dumpster in the back that was nearly full. We never had any issues with construction noise or debris during our stay. As a result of the rennovation, the local attractions brochures were being kept in a box behind the counter. The clerk gladly retrieved them for us.

The room was a typical Hampton king room; king bed, dresser, couch, desk (with network connex), mini-fridge, microwave and flat-screen TV. We had a little difficulty regulating the room temperature on the A/C, but finally got it dialed in. The bathroom was clean, and had the standard Hampton amenities (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, hand soap and body soap). There were plenty of bath towels (4) for the two of us. There was also a coffee maker.

Breakfast was standard Hampton fare: waffles, a variety of pastries & breakfast cereals some fresh fruit, Yoplait yogurt, and scrambled eggs (with ham on day #2). Service was excellent (thanks to Karen). We opted for breakfast out of the hotel on the first day at Marcy Jo's, which is about 4.5 miles east on Bear Creek Pike.

The only negative I can say about this property is that somebody was smoking in the storage room next to the elevator, and the smoke seemed to hang in that area. But everything else was top notch. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandB_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We called ahead to ask specifically for a room with a recliner. The told us they had a king room with a recliner. We checked in without checking the room out before going to dinner. When we got to our room, no recliner! The 'manager on duty' is the one we talked to over the phone and the one to check us in. We explained that I have severe back pain and need to move from the bed to a recliner. I reminded her she had told us the room had a recliner. She smiled and said, that's ok. Maybe ok with her but not me. We will never stay in this hotel or any other Hampton Inn again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Mt
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed here instead of the busier areas in Nashville near the end of a vacation. We were very pleased with the location, excellent service and room quality. Hotel is in a safe area near a Holiday Inn Express,several gas stations (cheap gas) and a couple fast food restaurants. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast staff kept the tables very clean and items stocked. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed here as an escape from tornados in N. Alabama. We lost power for 5 days, so needed to get away after few days in town. This was the perfect spot 20 miles south of Nashville near a nice friendly town of Colombia, Tn. It is right off interstate and close enough to few places to eat nearby or drive into Franklin, Tn. We enjoyed just hangin around area to enjoy slow pace and historical sites. Drove to pretty countryside and Natchez Trace trail nearby and ate at small restaurants.

Staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and well taken care of under stressful conditions. Internet service was excellent and lobby had great breakfast. Hot cookies in afternoon. Rooms were clean with fridg & microwave. You could not ask for a better place to stay and very friendly accomodating staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadhound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We had to exit Huntsville due to the tornado damage... A 0ne day stay turned into a 4 day stay. The staff of this hotel, managed by Darlina was extremely accommadeting with my 83 year old father in law. They did everything possible to assist us during this time of crisis. We are especially grateful to Felicia for constantly checking on and assist us with my father in low.

Room Tip: typical hampton inn- hilton quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Columbia
9.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Maury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 9 in Columbia
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Columbia
Super 8 Columbia
#7 of 9 in Columbia
238 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Spring Hill
Hampton Inn Spring Hill
#1 of 3 in Spring Hill
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia
Address: 1551 Halifax Dr, Columbia, TN 38401-6785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing