We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Par - Trains Trains Trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis Collierville
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Collierville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
“Not up to Par - Trains Trains Trains”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We were disappointed in Hampton inn for the first time. This must have been a remodeled other hotel as it was not the newly built Hampton Inn we have grown to love.

It was clean, the service was not up too par but by far a train all night every hour?
You got y to be kidding me!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgmeier3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    99
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
230
61
29
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We like Hampton Inns but this room must be the smallest we've ever been in. Not only the sleeping area, but the bathroom was small for my wife and I to maneuver around in. But, most important, it was clean and thanks to TripAsvisor members we requested a room on the backside, away from the trains!

At breakfast, we were pleased to find what we felt were a wider variety of choices - not just breads, apples and powdered or flying saucer eggs (although the eggs here had the customary powdered/pellet look). If Hampton Inns are supposed to have standard fare, the answer is they really don't. The presentation was great here with items spread out over three counters around the dining area so we didn't keep bumping into each other like it was a food trough on the farm.

MOST IMPORTANT TAKE-AWAY: Request back side to avoid trains at night!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallTVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

I stayed on the third floor and heard the train pass hourly. Toilet did not work and had to keep a plunger next to it. Desk person was not nice checking in and very rude checking out. I had problems with my bill and was over charged twenty bucks. Compared to the LaQuinta and Holiday Inn Express I stayed at during this trip, this place was the most exspensive and least favorite. Not alot of hotels in this city. Management should see what is going on here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabanaboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Being on a budget, I am always impressed by the quality of Hampton Inns compared to similarly priced competition. We stayed in the Collierville Hampton Inn for Gustav Hurrication (for those not from New Orleans, hurrication means hurricane evacuation). Our friends stayed at a Days Inn that is situated literally next door to the Hampton Inn. Had I not known that we paid exactly the same rate for our room as our friends did for theirs, I would have thought that ours was at least 50% more expansive. The spotless duvets; the big, clean, bright bathroom; the hot breakfast and the extremely polite staff just seemed so much pricier.

  • Liked — Value for the price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Parizanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago/Tampa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

We stayed here for three days on a trip from FL to Chicago. Had stayed at Hamptons in Savannah, GA, a couple in TN and one in FL. By far, this is the cleanest, friendliest and most appealing Hampton on the entire trip.
The lounge area is clean and welcoming. The breakfast is presented nicely, and has interesting entrees, such as eggs on toasted bagels with sausage. (Not your usual rubbery eggs.) We were given a handicapped room, as they were pretty well booked, even for midweek. It was like a suite! And their non-smoking rooms are truly odorless.
The staff was helpful and friendly, and seem to really enjoy their jobs.
We have stayed in pricier places, but this is the cleanest. And there is no shortage in good food in the area.
I would highly recommend this Hampton Inn!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank joannwilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collierville
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Collierville
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Germantown
Hyatt Place Germantown
#1 of 9 in Germantown
426 reviews
10.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis Collierville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis Collierville

Property: Hampton Inn Memphis Collierville
Address: 1280 W Poplar Ave, Collierville, TN 38017-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Collierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Collierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis Collierville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside the beat of Memphis and relax in historic Collierville, where you can find Civil War landmarks and small-town tranquility still easily within reach of the musical thrills of Memphis. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Memphis/Collierville is located within a mile of the FedEx Technology Campus and walking distance to the FedEx Training Center. We are within fifteen minutes of Graceland, Beale Street, Mike Rose Soccer Complex and other major attractions including Memphis Zoo, Autozone Park, Main Street Collierville, and East Memphis Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis Collierville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis Collierville Hotel Collierville
Hampton Inn Collierville
Collierville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing