We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was open....that's all”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Druid Inn

The Druid Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Llanferres
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It was open....that's all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I'm giving this review one point: half a point just because it was open before 1pm on a Sunday which our originally chosen pub wasn't, and another half for the waitress who was pleasant. It started on a bad foot when we were made to feel terrible by the landlady as one of our dogs barked. I removed him to the car immediately, as I would anywhere if he barked, but she gave me such a look and waved her hands in the air that I felt absolutely awful and chastised. I did notice later that another dog in the pub was given a treat by the chef/owner even though he was attacking every other dog walking in and out of the place! The food choices on the board seemed quite expensive for a small pub, so we went for one of the cheaper options of soup and a sandwich at almost £8! We thought we'd pad it out with a portion of chips each. The food came, obviously we hadn't ordered anything amazing so we expected and received average, the two portions of chips would have only made up one portion in any other establishment. The young waitress was polite and friendly. Unfortunately, I overheard the landlady pass a personal comment about one of us to the chef/owner who then laughed. I thought I had imagined it, but reading other comments on here I feel very sad to think that she actually had passed that comment and it wasn't my imagination. I won't be returning. There are too many other pub/restaurants in the area for me to waste my time in this place again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank hotel_mazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    47
    23
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shotton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Attitude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

we have visited The druid inn on numorous occasions, found the food over priced for what you get, found the mangeress rude and abbrupt certainly not pleased to help you, staff not much better, but will be giving this place a miss from now on, only liked it for the dog friendly and the views, shame about staff

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackwade2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham Wales
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“excellant value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We called into the druid for an early dinner on our way to the theatre. We have dined here previously and always found it very good value. There was in addition to the main menu a special offering two courses for two people for £20. We had garlic mushrooms and pate as starters and chicken and Sirloin steak for mains. At that price I expected fairly small portions, however all dishes were generous and well cooked and presented. Highly recomended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAYKAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

called here a few Sundays ago for a roast, nice friendly staff, friendly drunk man propping the bar up too, obviously a local.both of us had soup to start which was lovely and very filling, then soon after our roasts came, everything was tasty apart from the meat which was very gristly and chewy! The bill at the end was a big surprise(we should have looked before we ordered) it was expensive for a chewy roast, with only 2 potatoes each!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolShazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fairly Average Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We called at The Druid for Sunday lunch and were seated on a table near to the kitchens. Twice we heard very bad swearing coming from the kitchens which wasn't very pleasant. We chose to have the roast beef dinner but the meat was quite fatty and grisly, but the veg and everything else was OK. The pub itself was really nice and cosy and the waitress was friendly, just disappointed with the meat and foul language.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smurfy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Druid Inn also viewed

Llandegla, Denbighshire
Pontblyddyn, Flintshire
 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Been to The Druid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing